You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: When as a parent you know you are doing it right

in #poetry6 years ago

I can agree that she is wise beyond her years! What a beautiful girl and a beautiful poem :) I also have a 12-year old daughter who has dealt with loss and bullying. I will definitely be showing this to her! I've written poetry all of my life (I'm 35 now) and I've never had the guts to share much of it. Tell her she is very strong and courageous for opening up and sharing her poetry. You and your wife obviously have many good reasons to be proud! :)

Sort:  

Thank you for your kind words. I am sorry your daughter has had to go through this as well. I think it may be something about this age. Hopefully her reading it gives her some courage to face her obstacles. You should definitely share your stuff, especially here on Steemity. The writing community here is amazing and is very supportive and will only make you a better writer. I wish you and your daughter the best.

I finally let her read it and she teared up and said “Awww!” I could tell she identified with it :) Also, I definitely need to get more involved in the writing community on here. It might reawaken what little bit of creativity I still have left in me. Thanks!!