Sovereign Embrace

in #poetry6 years ago

She turned my palm over and gently pushed my fingers back, our silhouettes slowly sinking into shadow. We watched the last of evening rays waltz into the night, and I felt the rhythm of her breath as if it were my own. Her fingers intertwined in mine, and I knew emptiness. We were stardust, and we fabricated meaning through time and space.

I hadn't believed in love. I hadn't danced under warm water droplets, hadn't painted purple sunsets or silver skies. Now, I felt like twirling in autumn song, like composing serenades by candlelight. In her eyes, I found galaxies, felt constellations; in her heart, I found wholeness, felt life—

That night, I brought her flowers and a letter. We shared silence because she already knew everything I had come to say. I thought about waning moons and worlds without her, and I felt lost. Still, she knew we had to find ourselves.

Touching clouds, I now sing and spin across poppy fields. I jump into puddles of my own reflection, and I free my breath to the wind of the world because I exist. I am a melody, and my pulse harmonizes with the blessings of the earth. Now, I am the depths of the ocean and the sovereignty of sky. I feel rivers in my veins and a forest in my soul, and there is an adventure in the discovery of me as I learn, as I love, and as I learn to love.