Before Closure - An Original Poem & Artwork

in #poetry6 years ago (edited)

Hello all! I thought I'd share a poem I've recently written about (the light topic of) deep psychological pain and attempting to not indulge in it whilst simultaneously trying to accept it. This is a balance I've struggled to meet in the past though I feel I'm making continual progress in my awareness of it. The accompanying artwork is a photograph of a disfigured waterbottle. It's a couple years old now but I feel the colour pallette and form are fitting for the subject matter. Anyway, I hope you enjoy 'em.

all we have is depth
connection anchored in;
deep in sombre tone
wanting nothing more
than the pull –
the reason to addict
ourselves in ache’s
beauty. In my womb,
arms, your pate
withered with meaning’s
search. Indulging
fractured nostalgia, we’re
unsure of how we are. You
gesture – ‘when were you last
happy?’- to which I don’t reply,
immediately. I’m melancholic
for now and such is all I see
in my trace and yours. I fall
cradled in knowing
our tender sores,
caressing their fringe.
On your lips, I read you
‘should be dead’ or have
died, taking me in as I
take you. Opening up
before closure,
I reluctantly rise
to the surface, aware
of intensity’s fade;
such depths no longer
each other’s embrace.
I dry myself gently,
prolonging time
ahead of parted ways.
My melancholy turns
to saudade with a pale
desire to have drowned
with you.

Screenshot_2018-03-02-10-17-23-1.png

Sort:  

"the reason to addict/ourselves in ache’s/beauty." This is full of incredible lines like that, interesting and evocative juxtapositions. The poem has a lilting rhythm that to me perfectly fits the subject matter, and I love the ending.

@natashanewman, do you belong to the isle of write yet? If not, you might like it, it's a very supportive and fun group of talented writers. Follow this link to get there:

IOW COLOR MAP.png

Congratulations @natashanewman! You have received a personal award!

1 Year on Steemit
Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemFest3 and SteemitBoard - Meet the Steemians Contest

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @natashanewman! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemFest Meet The Stemians Contest - The mysterious rule revealed
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!