You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Unintended poetry - "I Knew There Was Something" - in support of @tarc

in #poetry6 years ago

It's hard to write a story that DOESN'T incorporate loss, I think. At least for me. It feels like any time you have some kind of struggle, you have a compromise (loss) in a decision that has been made.

Good little snapshot of unintendedpoetry :)

Sort:  

Is there a plot without something to work against or for. There has to be some kind of hardship to overcome or does one a have a plot?

Yes exactly, @prydefoltz. You need challenges and problems for a decent plot. I’m trying to think of a story I’ve read without that.

Maybe a poem:)

I agree 100%. Loss is inherently a part of the human experience. While this is unfortunate, and often tragic, stories that don't incorporate loss of some kind (even if it's simply one's pride), aren't all that interesting.

This is very true actually..