What An Old Man Sees While Sitting Down, A Child Can Not See Even If He Climbs Up An Iroko Tree (Comedy Open Mic Round 29, Entry #1)

in #poetry6 years ago (edited)

What An Old Man Sees While Sitting Down, A Child Can Not See Even If He Climbs Up An Iroko Tree

image
source


Among the Igbos of Nigeria it is exaggerated
That "what an old man sees sitted
A child wouldn't even if he climbs
Up a tree."
Walking down Memory Avenue
I see it is true
As I cast at last, a fast glance
Back to the dark track of yesteryears
I remember I used to always scamper up
An almond tree in the vicinage
In search of fruits
Fruits and nothing else
I'd never forsook any nook
And always got my packs filled after I disembark the bark.
Lots of fruits!

But then I grew older and got well advanced in age
I came to discover
There was an old brothel just opposite my tree
The tree I'd been attending all these years!
An old brothel!
And more is, it's windows are always ope'
Cos they're high up top 10 ft
I could have been mounting this tree every nightfall
While the lasses did their thing
And let me in on all that view,
All that action!
As I peek through the windows from the range.

Oh what a miss
And I'm assured the older men of those days
Had seen more in that call house while sitting
Than I had all my days of trotting ignorantly up that tree.

image

Other Crazy Poems By The Same Author

  1. Mary Goes Round

  2. Peekaboo, Pick a Boob

  3. There Shall Be A Moon, A Honeymoon

  4. There Shall Be A Pump

image

Sort:  

Hi nevies,

Thank your post in the #comedyopenmic tag.
Please note that this isn't a generic tag but rather it's a tag for our contest
If you'd like to participate you can click here to read the contest rules.

I would like to draw your attention to the rule asking contestants to include "Comedy Open Mic Round #" in the title.
We are currently on round 29

Please update your title and we will pass your entry along to the judges for judgement*.

*Judges that pass judgement only judge as far as judgement is concerned.

Hi nevies,

Thank you for your entry in to #comedyopenmic comedy contest. We have asked the judges below to review your entry and give it a funny rating. (They generally have no sense of humor, as the saying goes, those that can't do, start contests and judge).
This will determine your ultimate position when the results are tallied. (That being said, you are free to adopt any position you wish - we can recommend pantsless with beer in hand.)

Judges:

If you have any questions or queries please feel free to contact one of the judges or come say hi in discord: Click Here

Click To Vote @ComedyOpenMic For Witness And Disrupt The Steem Blockchain With Laughter!
Support COM Banner

Thank you to @matytan for the great banner

Oh boy! See naivete! Lol

#Bigwaves

Hahahahahah, thanks for dropping by to 👍

Well that's fine and dandy you horny voyeur but there's something you missed and you should know.
Your horny mind that spies on hoes, missed the nominations, its two steemians and now you know.
Put "Comedyopenmic, week 29 and entry number (first) in you title and you'll be all set to get you a title;
It might be top ten, it might be jester, it might be a dope upvote from the COMers that meddle.

Hahahahahaha, you crazy fellow! You got rhymes too, that's lovely creative 😁. OK, I've looked south and sorted the whole thing out, I'm hoping to come out stout. 😁 😁. Thanks very much for dropping by

This is very great dear. I am so glad you are back. I love the way you described your poems as "crazy" lol

I want to join comedyopenmic o