You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: I Don't Know How Many Souls I Have

in #poetry6 years ago

I guess this poem can be interpreted in many ways. And I will be a bit presumptuous and claim that I understand what Fernando Pessoa is saying and say that we have all been in this place before. A place where one is trying to find out where he/she is. Life can be a bit confusing at times.

The answers are never as forthcomiming as we would like them to be, but I guess it is merely a place along the way.

Writer like Fernando Pessoa tend to go where many are loath to and I can only contemplate one thing. I will phrase it in a question:

What wound is he trying to excavate? As a reader, I guess this is the question that preoccupies me. But who knows, I guess we all have to bring our interpretation to bear on this piece. Thanks for sharing.