prose poetry

in #poetry6 years ago (edited)

Eventually I should do an about me so that there will be background on what type of artist i am so that my poems will be better understood, until then a brief background:

This poem was inspired by a reoccurring inner dialogue I have been wrestling with. It stems from a deep desire to reach a freedom who's meaning I am still uncertain of.. perhaps as a great artist once said, "it takes getting everything you ever wanted than losing it, to know what true freedom is" rings true.

i am in a cage
that resembles the four walls of my room
the mind craves metaphors to compare
the proverbial to the physical
fear comprises the brick and mortar
that builds walls and enclosed places
to stifle personal goals and pursuits of inspiration
pens write self actualized loosely guided by brain synapses
experiencing temporary relief to express the free flow
of thoughts that live stream consciousness

there are so many things i don't understand
my soul cries as i step inside realms
i cannot fully comprehend
I can't help but feel these are the places I'm supposed to be
the path winds so much I'm constantly losing my footing
endlessly debating what's right side up
fear relinquishes me to the path most wandered
but... that is not who I am