Fumbling

in #poetry2 years ago (edited)

A3115DF4-9DE5-4485-AE34-17929A4E17F5.jpeg

I am alone.
Aren’t we all, though?

I have ghosty pictures in my head
of him, and her.
And they.

Show me the way?
Someone?
Won’t you please?
I can’t find it,
that damned way.

I can’t stand on both legs anymore.
I can’t breathe through both lungs.
My left eye has gone blind
The right one sees wrong.

It shows me that EVERYTHING
is like a fumbling cloud which is
trying to decide if it wants to fall down
or just keep hanging around.

I relate to the fumbling. But maybe you already know that about me.

Sort:  

I went down and read the daydreaming post with Elliott, and this poem takes on a whole new seriousness in light of it.

It's hard to be balanced in a world where the pendulum is always swinging too far in one direction or the other. Sometimes it seems it's intended to make sane people feel crazy. Deep people especially. The shallow get along just fine in the midst of discord, even thrive, but those of us who truly feel tend to truly care and that's where the sadness can ooze in.

A few months ago my husband pointed something out to me. He said- In all of the time I've known you I could say with confidence that you are peace, and you are love. But for a few years now, I couldn't say you are happiness. Not that you aren't happy at times, but while you instinctually understand peace and love come from within, you seem to have started believing happiness is external.
Find that within again.

It clicked something into place for me. We're always hearing "looking for love, making peace, pursuing happiness.." in reality it should be I am peace, I am love, and yes, I am happiness". Because this world will always give us reasons to be sad, will create resistance to our evolution.

Small changes at first, this one being silly yet profound- I've stopped saying Have a great day and started saying Make it a great day, sometimes just a little bit of control over our circumstances can go a long way :)

Firstly , I accidentally downvoted your comment! I immediately changed it, but I have no idea if that means something bad happens for you. I apologize!

Secondly, you shared very wise words, and I truly am working on it. I appreciate your kindness. Thank you!