When will the blues songs come to me?

in #poetry8 years ago

BluesAcousticbyclaritaviaMorguefileb707e.md.jpg

From where oh where does creativity come?
For while practicing one song already composed,
Another from within me now arose.
It came up all on its own,
As if wrapped pretty in ribbons and bows.

Even more mysterious is my love of the blues,
Already put together by others amused.
You'd think with all my playing of the blues,
A song of the same nature would arise in the hues.
But instead what comes up is more Country than Blues.

In other times still yet,
If country was something that you could bet,
Then while practicing my country song,
You'd think another one would set.
But while practicing my country and getting it right,
What comes up next is a rock song alight!

So now I am waiting for my own blues song to arise.
And now while I'm playing my rock and country alike.
I'm open to hear a verse or two,
Perhaps it will be new.
But I hope to hear a seventh chord,
Of music made to be blue.

Patrick Gallagher
patrick-g