You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: voor jou (for you)- an original short poem

in #poetry6 years ago

where say door verraad and translated to treason I had to check, since I had no clue what the word is in Afrikaans seems it is hoogverraad.

I like how you translated voor to for which I might have slipped on and said lay them before you which in essence means the same but is more a direct translation, in Afrikaans at least.

Goes without saying this is a very impressive poem.

Sort:  

Thank you for your comment. Afrikaans and Dutch are related but some words have taken on a (slightly) different meaning. I meant "for" as "giving them" in this case. In Dutch "voor" can mean "in front of" or "for" when combined with "you" or similar. And since this is meant to be a Senryu the metrum is 5-7-5 syllables, so that's why. I am stoked that you think it is impressive, thanks you.