Poem #2 by picklepuss . Always there for me.....My Mom

in #poetry6 years ago

DSC02518.JPG

We left her bedside for the long drive home
My sister and I so drained and alone.
Her sons stayed longer until our return.

At home we were busy buying pretty things for her new home,
Rushing about so happy but worn.
We called her often....her sons at her bed
Playing cards, laughing hard at the fun things she said.

One son left to drive the others back home.....returning an hour later.
He heard codes ......saw nurses ,doctors surrounding her bed.
He thought she had fallen and perhaps hurt her head.
There was no fall, but the fall of fate
Her heart had stooped......he was too late.

Making dinner in my kitchen..oh so cheerful that day,
So very soon Mom would be here to stay.
The phone rang, I answered.....my brother seemed sad.
Hello, my love....the news it is bad.

She's gone, he told me and I wondered where
Then it hit me, Oh My God....NO NO
I cried and cried.....I couldn't stop

12743920_953235761396725_7418413764526061985_n.jpg

My heart was just broken...it still is today.
My Mom, my best friend gone forever.
In heaven she'll stay......until we meet again someday.

Sort:  

There's nothing like a mom's love, is there? I'm so sorry for your loss and 'how' it all happened. Her memories live on though...you'll have to tell me some of them some time!