Encounter

in #poetry7 years ago (edited)

I spied you looking secretly at me.
How crafty were your stolen glances,
yet I saw them, flashing liquid brown
within those fluttering lashes!

Yes, my eyes also ranged here and there,
yet soon returned...flicking in to watch you
with sudden intensity, then snapping away
to watch without seeing all those other things.

There! I caught your eyes again, a sudden, darting
interrogation of me, that somehow made me feel
revealed, yet not embarrassed.

A strange, exciting intimacy washed over me with
each succeeding look!

And with that feeling of closeness came a fear,
the fear that you might disappear! With each
returning sweep of your eyes my dread increased,
my palms began sweating and a lump filled my chest!

I couldn't take my eyes from you, no, not for a
second then! MY GOD, I was staring right at you!

And before I lost you forever, before you simply
vanished from sight, I stood upon my trembling
legs, took a deep breath and...

Sort:  

I was super tired till I came across this. Thank you.

You're welcome! And thanks for taking the time to comment.

This post was resteemed by @resteembot!
Good Luck!

Learn more about the @resteembot project in the introduction post.

Hey @poetec! this is rely nice! upvoted!! :)

Thanks for your kind reply and for the vote!

I enjoy you, buddy. You're deep.

Thank you! I mean it.

You earned it, buddy. Keep up with your good content. Once your audience finds you, the sky will be your limit here.

Congratulations @poetec! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published your First Post
You made your First Vote
You got a First Vote
You made your First Comment

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!