In His Arms

in #poetry7 years ago

00009.png

Good morning, Father God, and I thank Thee for the blessed sleep,
So deep and sweet the rest which Thou didst give me.

Yea, carried in Thy sure embrace, I sojourned the watches blissfully,
A trusting babe within Thy cradling arms.

And Thou didst give me dreams, and marvelous the visions,
Which filled my eyes with wonder, and my mouth with shouts of praise,
As Thy Spirit caught me up to Thee, in the heights of Heaven’s reaches,
And didst bless Thy little awestruck child, with supernal wonder glimpses.

Thy loving bosom was my bed, Thy tender care my pillow,
And thy warmth and love didst cover me so well.

Yea, from yester evenings twilight moon, whence I bid goodnight to Thee,
Thou hast kept me till this new dawns’ sun, hath touched the far horizon.