Loss

in #poetry7 years ago

00010.png

I shall never see you in our home, nor hear your voice in greeting,
Welcome me in the evening, as it woke me in the morning.

No more close embraces in your arms to send me on,
Or receive me when I’m home again, to end the working day.

No more your laughter and your smile, to ease the load of living,
And rekindle hope within me, by your sweet assuring song.

This house is empty without you, though when I close my eyes,
You fill my mind with memories, and walk these halls again…

In our bedroom I recall the so sweet love we shared,
Somehow overshadowed now, by pained remembrances.
The bed we made together, is void of promise now…

Your absence fills these lonely rooms: I breath it, in the air,
And these walls press in upon me, on my heart in lonely longing,
For what was taken from my world, the day you passed away…

Sort:  

Congratulations @poetec! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of posts published
Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!