My Friend

in #poetry7 years ago

00014.png

I’d like to somehow thank you,
You’ve been a friend indeed.
In the rough times helped me through,
Was there, when I had need.

Glad am I to know you,
You’ve dealt with me so honestly.
Thank you that you told the truth,
In friendship, did not play with me.

You shared your feelings openly,
And did not hide yourself,
And accepted nothing less from me,
Helping me to know myself.

Much confidence I place in you,
And value your fidelity.
Esteem you highly, friend of mine,
Have faith in your integrity.

Of all the people I have known,
It’s surely you I’ll not forget.
Remember you and things we’ve shared,
And good times fondly recollect.

You’ve given more than taken, friend,
And by these words I want to show you,
You’re a very special friend of mine,
And I’m very glad to know you.