Sunset

in #poetry7 years ago (edited)

00008.png

Where have all the hours gone?
How quickly passed away!
It seems but moments since the dawn,
Now darkness ends the day…

How clear the early memories of morning!
How fresh the scenes of sunrise in my mind.
With newborn eyes I watched the sun adorning,
All the world with colours, richly lined.

Fresh as a new day, a child of the light,
I marvelled at the things to know.
With innocent wonder and youthful delight,
Skipped lightly to and fro.

I grew up through the morning, soon,
Maturing past the midday bell.
Became adult by afternoon,
And a little wise, as well.

Now, sobered by the twilight near,
And thoughts of fast-approaching night,
I while away my moments here,
The last faint gleams of light…

Sort:  

The cycle of a day, from sunrise to sunset, is so magnificent.

The stanza;

I grew up through the morning, soon,
Maturing past the midday bell.
Became adult by afternoon,
And a little wise, as well.

really appeals to me. I love how you compared the day to your life and your maturity. The rhythm and tone also adds to the soothing read. Well done and thank you for sharing!

PS: If you are interested and have some spare time, I have some poetry on my blog too. :)

Thanks for the reply! I'll check out your blog.