Manifestation - A poem inspired by Cassette Beasts' Lore

in #poetry10 months ago

Video

Manifestation

New Wirral’s skies
are bursting a sunset pink.

A new angel sings
of a living throne
whose armrests wrap me
in a velvet embrace.

This palace,
I reign.

The archangel, Confidance,
holds a ball
in our hall,
where all guests dance,
no longer longing
for a belonging.

Under the pink shimmer
of chandeliers,
the people gleam,

their pores pour
brooks of bliss,
through skin
their souls once saw
as cages.

The Lore

In Cassette Beasts, players end up in New Wirral, a world between dimensions. This world is filled with monsters, which were once thought as angels. The largest and most impacting ones are still called Archangels as they are misunderstood, and there are even a set of cultists that praise and seek these Archangels.

The archangels are created through manifestation of human ideas, such as Greed and Conquest. Because of that, I sat down and reflected: what kind of archangels would my feelings and ideas create? That's where Confidance came through, with lots of references to pink. I hope the poem embodies my confidence in my queerness and identity.