An Eternity, A Warning to the Tragically Romantic, Poetry and (ugh) Digital Art

in #poetry6 years ago (edited)

An Eternity

631px-Echo_and_Narcissus_by_John_William_Waterhouse (1).jpg


I could spend an eternity
Looking at you
Sitting over a pond
The envy of Narcissus
As blue as my eyes
As deep as your soul
Drinking naught but love
But forty-eight hours later
We’re both dead


Screen Shot 2018-04-01 at 9.29.12 PM (1).jpg

They say a joke explained
Is a joke lost
But explain, I think I must
After 48 hours
Some say seventy-two
Some do like to argue
Without water a man is down

So eat, drink, and make love
But in that order
If you want to live
To love
Another day

...


Echo and Narcissus is by John Waterhouse. The photo has been edited. The digital art is a composite of photos found in the creative commons or public domain.

https://vi.wikipedia.org/wiki/Narcissus#/media/File:Echo_and_Narcissus_by_John_William_Waterhouse

https://commons.wikimedia.org/wiki/File%3ANarcissist_(NH266)_(31562810014).jpg
By David Short from Windsor, UK (Narcissist (NH266)) [CC BY 2.0 (http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by/2.0)], via Wikimedia Commons

An Eternity was previously published in Strays. For more information click on the photo below.

straysimovie copy.jpg

Sort:  

If I well understand your poetry, thank God, not a haiku... is it realistic against romance ?! Good advice for survival!

Thank you, Blue:)

You know, always my pleasure!

I love this... it made me laugh 😂
Good work

Glad for that. Thank you, May:)

Nice story pryde, as always.

Thank you, Jay:)

“Live to love another day” Brilliant!

It reminds me of James Bond:)

It does rather sound like a Bond title

But Pryde, how can you forget, or at least rank higher, the sheer ecstasy.... Of breathing. ;)
I know, you have to humor the Old Guy. Sometimes I fancy myself as clever if not the least bit humorous.

clever and humorous, you are
but breathing is done autonomically
you do it without thinking

Yes, I know, that's just like loving
but you have to pause both
to accomplish eating or drinking

verry nice a story amazing

One out of three?

One out of three ... I'm confused.

Eat, drink, make love... :( only one of the three for me.

Which one?

Oh god i should not have commented on this... i don't drink but i have to eat. The last one? Well never worked out so well

Haha ... consider yourself off the hook let:)