THE BLAME

in #poetry6 years ago

imagesource

Blame me for not coursing the safe routes
but be impaired to this path of perdition which encircled me as a snare
Blame my rod for entering every vent
but never blame the wound for refusing to stay dry
blame this well for being all encompassing
but remember you never covered the lid when you fetched
this table didn't shake when these paths were opened before me
when my boat was still looking for an island
this table didn't shake when you left the door ajar
and asked me how I saw the mirror in your room
were we weaned to be impaired when nature had bestowed on us the grace to appreciate beauty?
let's pretend we never say when the sacred beard was shaved in the day light
Let's pretend we never saw the photograph we pointed the flash even when it wasn't dark
let's pretend we never saw when the bride was kissed before the veil was taken off
let's pretend we never say when the undies were hung on the line at daylight
but refused to reprimand…
Now you are putting the blame on me
Now you are asking how did we get here
And I ask you, are we cursed or we are the cause?