An Old Ghost Town in Texas

in #poetry6 years ago (edited)

ghosttown.jpg

I wonder where all of the people have gone.

I guess some have died, while some others moved on.


ghosttown2.jpg

What was wrong with this place that caused them to go?

Was the pace of this town just way too damn slow?

ghosttown3.jpg

I wonder where all of the people have gone.

ghosttown4.jpg

When did this old town die?

Did a new highway come? Did it pass them by right by?


ghosttown5.jpg

Who was the last to leave?

Who was the last to go?

chevron.jpg

I still have family in Texas and sometimes I drive down from Colorado. I like to get off of the highway sometimes and take the smaller farm roads. On one such adventure, I came across this forgotten town. My father worked as a computer systems analyst for Chevron, so the gas pump reminded me of him.

Pull out your map and take the slower route sometimes. Stop in places others pass by. There was beauty in the historic shell of this old town. I'd have missed it completely had I taken the fastest way home.


These photos were recovered from some old zip drives, put there by me...well, when zip drives were a thing.
Camera: Nikon Coolpix 990
Low resolution images heavily processed in Adobe Photoshop CC and Silver Efex Pro 2


Rebele93-footer-clear.png

If you liked this post, please consider upvoting, following and resteeming!

Sort:  

If not for the historical protection status, that would make one damn good BLUES recording studio...! Just imagine the stray sounds that would end up on recordings made in there..

I just visited the county and western hall of fame. I can almost hear the old wooden guitar worn out from years of loving abuse. A singer wailing into and old-timey microphone with tales of heartache and loss. An old fiddle plays the harmony an a foot stomps out the rhythm, keeping everyone in time.

I love this post @rebele93. Ghost towns fascinate me. Always so many questions when you stumble onto a place like this. Really interesting to see that Jesse James wanted poster - obviously most likely a reproduction even though the town/store was obviously abandoned quite some time ago, but actual authentic Jesse James wanted posters have sold at auction for up to $50K!!! Just sayin'. I really like the 3rd shot down of the old gas pump and store from the corner angle. These are all great, usually I don't like such heavy filters/processing but seems appropriate here. Your poem sums up a lot of the voices I hear in my head when I see a place like this. Much love - Carl

Haha, I'm pretty sure the poster was a knock-off reproduction. This town probably died in the 50's or even 60's, way past Jessie James runnin' days.

yeah that is obviously the most likely reality, but hey, you never know ;)

Man, this really sent me some vibes. I didn't roll through these parts while living in Texas, but would like to.

Never too late for a road trip!

True and I'm overdue! Maybe after the camping trip!

I am very glad to read your post. I love horror story . Hope you come back such kind of post.

Thanks! g

Wow! Great work rebele93! Your post has appeared on the hot page after 108min with 383 votes.

Really enjoyed your post @rebele93. I like seeing old, historic things, things others have forgotten about. My aunt used to have an antiques shop, she used to take me to out of the way places and back roads to help her find abandoned artifacts of interest. Thanks!

I also like antique shops. You never know what you will find in them. Something about finding a hidden, long forgotten treasure or trinket.

A truly eximious post! You have a new follower!

Resteemed for others viewing pleasure!

Thank You!

hello, i like this post, i voted for you, i have followed you, hihi you, i have a private blog about coffee in steemit, maybe you like, i will share your opinion You will know there are many good things about my coffee blog, follow me, and vote for me, thank you, make a funny steemit.

Wow! Never been to a ghost town before. Your post just made me wanna go there. Would be a very interesting place for one of my photoshoots.

Very nice! Eerie photos..

I've been through a few "ghost towns" in the Texas, and Oklahoma region as I travel and search for hidden gem rockclimbing spots. Any idea where these are at in Texas? Lot's of the ghost towns I have seen in Oklahoma are old prison towns and some oil towns from long ago. A few are coming back online with the growth in fracking. Cool post - great pictures!

Thanks!

To tell you the truth, this was SOOOO long ago. Almost 20 years. I went home through the panhandle and almost immediately got off of the main roads. No location metadata back then so I have no way of even guessing. Let me know if you find it!

Full Disclaimer: OK... my memory was more than a bit foggy. My curiosity got the best of me so I started Googling. Apparently this is in New Mexico and I was completely wrong.

(shhhhhh... no one will know unless they read the comments! )

SPOILER ALERT... don't follow the link unless you actually want to ruin the mystery of what happened in this ghost town.

http://www.rockymountainprofiles.com/Folsom%20NM.html

Nice one pal..

very cool post, and the bit of poetic verse pulls it together!

real interesting man ! keep it up!