For Lovers

in #poetry7 years ago

I've never shared any of my poetry online or anywhere that I can remember. I've tortured my friends and a few times my family with it but that's about it. It's something I've loved to do from the moment I was taught Haiku in sixth grade. The following is unlike most of my other poems, as I usually tend towards darker subjects. Hope you enjoy it. (Photo courtesy of pixels.com)

For Lovers

The sky seems cut from black paper tonight
Stars glitter in a smear
Half hidden by the fog that dampens our
Clothes and makes us cold and the
Wind stirs the leaves that fall
And crackle in the streets
And under our shoes as we walk
Time is lost and unimportant
We laugh and hold hands
As if there is no limit for us
As long as we are in love
Going nowhere, really
There are cigarettes and stories
The streets are quiet
Just as we like it
And the world belongs to us
(2004)IMG_1022.JPG

Sort:  

Congratulations @renodakota! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of posts published

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honnor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Beautiful! Brings me back to when I first met my wife!

Awww! That makes me happy. Thank you. I was nervous to share a poem, glad it didn't bomb completely!

Congratulations @renodakota! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honnor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Nice poem and thank you for being brave enough to share it with us.

Thanks!

Your welcome! (Apologies on the typo)

I knew what you meant!

The picture goes ever so well with your poetry. Truly beautiful!

Thank you! I'm glad to have found some decent stock photo sites. I try to use my own pictures when I can, but the free sites sometimes have good stuff.

This one fit the bill!

Beautiful!

Thank you so much!

Great blog!

Thanks for reading :)

Thanks for this amazing poem!!!!! :-)

Love & Light! :D

I curate #poetry and posts with the tag #onehumanbasket
Find out about it here where there is also a poetry dice challenge!

Thanks for the compliment!

This is another good piece, but I bet you can write a lot better now. I want to see more work that you write today. Something that has meaning today in your life. I think you can do it. This is solid, but I think you have a lot more to say now.

this is so good really! haha i will definitely be following you.
and i hope to see more of it :) shouldnt hide such talent.

Thank you so much!

I like it, but I get the feeling you were holding back?

Thanks. No, not really holding back, but I was trying to write about romance in a more "pop" way than I ever do. Most of my other stuff has a depressed or dark flavor to it. I was trying to just write romance, but that's interesting that you sense something missing.

I used to be an editor and they told me that even tho I didn't know the authors, I had this innate sense to 'read between the lines' quite literally like that! Lol, I usually don't say much anymore- it's not my job lol! But I felt something

Woman, you have the gift of intuition. Are you a Scorpio, or a Sagittarius by chance?

Leo :) by the sun

And triple fire dragon by the east.

And salmon and mouse by the Earth...

;)

No wonder you're more popular than me :) Just a Scorpio here 🦂 Lol!

This is beautiful!