Good Mourning

in #poetry6 years ago

I woke up this morning,
What can I say?
I will never forget,
That horrible day.

A flick of the wrist,
That was all it took,
As my wife fell on the ground,
And then my world shook.

I was next to die,
How come I am here to say,
A citizen was armed,
Blew the three assailants away.

I told the police,
everything I knew,
My friends say I am fine,
That everything is cool.

Just stop it you hear me,
That is what I say,
You are not there reliving,
That moment everyday.

I look on my own daughter,
With fear and dread,
That she will be taken,
Right from her bed.

I knew Melissa,
Seven years of my life,
Before my world,
Became agony and strife.

I cannot even hold,
our wedding picture, you see,
She was killed right in front of me,
On our Seventh Anniversary.

Do not give me websites,
EHarmony you say,
I found my true love,
a mugger took her away.

My days are sorrowful,
full of solace and complaint,
As my everyday trauma,
Gives me bitter constraint.

How do you explain it,
How do you tell why,
To a four year old girl,
How her mother had died.

I live and relive,
that moment everyday,
Begging for God to just come,
and take me away.

Melissa is gone God,
Can you not see,
I have no reason to stay,
Only dying in misery.

Please God, I am begging,
Imploring somehow,
Oh God, my God, please,
Bring her back right now.

(The work is not advocating this tone in terms of the authors relationship with God. It is exploring the characters mental state.)