From he who was you once...

in #poetry3 years ago

If you could write a letter to your younger self, what would you say? How would you say it? What advice would you give?

These are the thoughts that went through my head when I decided to write a second letter to my younger self. The first one was written about three years back at the instance of the tech whiz @cadawg.

Please enjoy...


writing-1209121_1920.jpg

Image by Free-Photos from Pixabay


Dear Little one,
Here's a letter from your tomorrow..
From these steps which you've begun,
These are some lessons I bid you borrow...

You may wonder why today,
Or indeed why you'll need this letter..
But little one, perhaps if I may,
For someday I'm sure you will remember...

That your teenage years are quite overrated,
As a man now, I can tell you that..
Learn this and learn that, words which you hated,
Oh, they may come around to bite you back...

Now I do not claim to be any wiser,
For I would be you again if I had the chance..
If only to do the same things a little better,
Now that Sir Experience has burnt my hands...

But little one, today you turn twenty,
And on your hands my life is based..
May you be guided by wisdom aplenty,
May obstacles not have you fazed...

You will live, and you'll love,
And you'll scale those heights above,
And when the hour is finally come,
We'll meet at that point, young one...

From he who was you once,
To he who would someday be myself..
Do not attempt everything at once,
And someday, you'll be proud of your grownup self...

#SladenSpeaks
#IfWordsWereNudes


Sort:  

Thanks for reminding me about this and the kind words. I really like your letter.

:D

Thanks friend. And thanks for the tip too. Hope you're doing great where you are.👍

Wow, that was free flowing and quite striking. I think a letter to my younger self would be along these lines too, coupled with a lot of sex advice too😀😉

Hi seesladen,

This post has been upvoted by the Curie community curation project and associated vote trail as exceptional content (human curated and reviewed). Have a great day :)

Visit curiehive.com or join the Curie Discord community to learn more.