DEAR, CORPORATE AMERICA: "ONE NATION UNDER CEO" poem by Galexxi

in #poetry7 years ago

You do a great job influencing the actions of others,
While we walk into the interviews portraying another appearance, just for that second?
Wake up every day as the person I Am
Yet I wear the mask of corporate that consumes majority of time I have
Purchased the $200 titanium flat iron just to stretch my natural beauty a little further

Notice the pitch in my voice changes whenever, I am engaged in negotiating deals with important clientele
$800 dresses, $900 bags
Just so when we walk though, they know we gettin money
Still knowing as intellectual higher beings not anyone could spend the amount of currency
to cover up their internal damages
Hard hours working, time missed from our families
But as "The people" we feel the need to have something to prove to you…

Corporate America

I ask...

Can I just be me 💁🏾 👑

Sincerely,

-Shamika J GALEXXI

Sort:  

Very well written! Upvoted and Followed!
We of @poetrytrail are always looking for quality content like yours! Hope you will hop on too and take part in our poetry events, it would be a shame if we couldn’t share this great poetry with more of the community!

thank you @poetrytrail I would love to join the community i am following you! Are there any links or sites to look out for?

Our contests are posted in our blog! You are very welcome to take part now! :)

Keep up the work

thank you so much for the resteem!! more to come