Armistice [Collaborative Poetry]

in #poetry6 years ago

peace-529380_960_720.jpg
Source

Fuck the grenades you throw into my life
I refuse to live as if I am at war
I will dance in no mans land
I will eat your bullets
Your arsenal is no match for mine
I rise from this battlefield
unscathed, un-shriven
Defiant in the crossfire
Armed with nothing but will
I'll find peace while you standoff
I can't lose a war I refuse to fight


IMG_3826 (2).JPG
Art is free to use from pixabay
Written in collaboration with the ever so talented @clayboyn

Sort:  

Strong extended metaphor, team. Wasn't expecting the pacifistic turn at the end there after so much visceral imagery, such a great turn!

Fun to see a collaborative poem work so well - you two did a great job in that I wouldn't have known it was two writers if not revealed; seamlessly done.

Thank you for sharing, @clayboyn and @sunravelme!

thank you! I think that's certainly one of the ultimate goals of a collab, for a poem to work so well it looks like one person made it instead of two

Love always wins.💘

This is very powerful and succinct. I, too, search for peace in the land of war and dissent.

Thank you! I hope in the end, we all find our peace

Me too, dear.

<3

Thank you lovely <3 Hope you're doing well!

Powerful piece from the dynamic duo! Fuck the grenades indeed 👍✨

Thank you for checking it out! <3 Loving your work lately

Really strong and unabashed opening line which throws you through the rest of the poem.

I'm glad it has movement- sometimes I question to include cursing in a poem, but that was the emotion that inspired the entire thing, so it stayed.

I really liked this one :)
You really nailed the metaphors for me.
The first grenades line is just great on it's own.

Thank you! That one was mine <3

I can't lose a war I've refused to fight
Nice diction

I've tried to ryhme it up with..
Especially if it doesn't give my world light
Seems it's won't work.....,

Yeah, Clay is the rhymer between us- occasionally he works in free verse with me.

Yeah! I'm doing the Supergirl pose, feeling empowered.

Awesome! At the end of the day, that was the reaction I was hoping for!

Good post I really like that