my two little loves

in #poetry6 years ago

I can’t believe that you are gone now
You and your sister were the light of my life
And now your lights have faded
You two were so very tiny when I got you
So tiny and helpless
Gwen with her three little feet
And her one little stump
and you Babs, were so darn cute
It was an adjustment
Getting used to kittens
But you were worth every sleepless night
Even now, years later
I miss your presence next to me in the night
curled up between my legs
under the covers
I am sorry, so very sorry
for all of the times that I just left you
left you to go on vacation
or away for the weekend
I failed you girls
in so many ways
I failed you
And that is why I let you go
I loved you two more than life itself
I loved you with everything that I had
But it wasn’t enough
I wasn’t enough
I loved you too much to hold onto you
when you needed more than I could give you
and now my heart lies broken before you
I wonder
if you girls ever thought of me
after you went to your new home
every day, every hour, every minute
I would think of you both
curled up asleep
in my shirt
I miss you
I love you
And now you fly high
I hope that you both can look down and see
just what you mean to me
And how much
I love you still
please don’t hate me
but I don’t blame you if you do
I love you always
and forever
my two little loves

Sort:  

Beautiful and sad. I'm sorry for your loss. :-(

Congratulations @supertouk! You have received a personal award!

1 Year on Steemit
Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemitBoard Ranking update - Resteem and Resteemed added

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @supertouk! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!