At the Gates

in #poetry6 years ago

At the Gates

 
Here I am, my time is done and now judgement awaits
I lived the life of choices and of many future fates
Each step I made was my own, each step was also guided
Walking my path learned from those in whom I confided

There were errors to be sure, errors made solely by me
Did I adjust did I grow or did I say, C'est La Vie
Dismiss my indiscretions and ignore the damage caused
Let the ego control it all, the reflection never paused

A life of one but did I ever see that I may live against
The actions in my world have become the bars and my fence
At the gates I stand wondering what will come along next
The stern face of the adjudicator my own more perplexed

Had I done wrong, had I failed, had I not performed my best?
Perhaps as I look back now, I may have cheated in the test
My life was my own but I lived it wholly among the many
Though value I extracted freely, I held tight on every penny

Perhaps I was mistaken in the way I played on in the game
Now in the reflection of the pearl I see who is to blame
List in hand it reviews each act of give and each of take
I pray that under the line there is positive for my stake

Enough at least to pay my way through, the guard at the door
To gain entry to a world of freedom and love forever more
That was the dream before yet I was earning for this state
Why not work for freedom and love before I got to the gate?

From this nightmare I awaken, heart racing and in cold sweat
Fortunate to not believe that the future comes with debt
I can live on gathering, collecting all, giving little back
The ethics of tomorrow have no affect on my one way track

There is no judgement except from the group, their warped tilt
It matters not, I cannot see their faces over the walls I have built
The only one that can is me, the only one who can make the calls
Thankfully my ego has removed all of the mirrors from the walls

One life to live, one life to maximize and own all that I can
To buy all of the pleasures and cover the failings of the man
Don't look closely, don't take a step back and look from the past
For to do so is to recognise that what one has will never last.

Taraz
[ a Steemit original ]

Sort:  

I was expecting some metal from At The Gates judging by the title haha.
But instead it was a great poem. I really liked it!

A deep and meaningful post today. Do you write them based on your own experiences. saw the test been added in. Really does bug you.

That test didn't even come to mind. Weirdly.

I guess everything we all do technically is from our own experience in some way but, it depends. Sometimes I write about a topic where I want a feeling so imagine/remember myself in a completely different scenario. I don't know, I just write I guess.

I suppose that is the best way to write. Just gives it more meaning.

Love poetry! Maybe my ego also should remove all the mirrors from the walls...
Good stuff! Thanks!

add more mirrors, look closely and realise the ego is an illusion created to protect the discovery of truth.

What a wonderful piece. Life is really much more than our wildest dreams and imaginations.
And we can only make our lives to really count through selfless service to others.
Thanks @tarazkp

"don't look closely, don't take a step back and look from the past" these line really relates with me. Nice one

yes that one caught my eye also and this one

The actions in my world have become the bars and my fence

I liked this one too

What a wonderful and lovely poetry