A Simple Poem

in #poetry7 years ago

9.jpg

It's been a while since I've even thought about poetry, I've been so busy. I wanted to share this poem with you all because it was the favourite of mine of all that I've written. I'll post some more if anyone is interested, but for now I'll leave it with this.

The Man and the Moon

My dream shook me awake that night
Through the bars I saw you peeping
You gave me an almighty fright
How long you've watched me sleeping?

I've been locked away for many years
Behind a heavy door
My face grows wet with silent tears
You pierce me to my core

I stretch my hands outside my cage
Your beauty, how it lingers
I'm getting slow in my old age
You slip right through my fingers

It seemed you had been drawn to me
While dancing on the lake
To my heart you have the key
My love, there's no mistake

STOP IT! I can see you there
In the trees you try to hide!
YOU'RE MINE! I will not share
Why don't you come inside!

Impossible! Whats wrong my love?
Your light is growing thinner
You're falling from your throne above
Is it cause I'm a sinner?

Come back you fool! You're nothing.
You cannot live without me
I'll find you, I'm not bluffing
I'll never let you free

All that I can see is black
The cold of night so chilling
I wish I'd have a heart attack
That thought to me is thrilling

You took the easy path
You make me angry to the bone
Consoled, only by my wrath
I refuse to be alone


The meaning of the poem is about a man who has fallen in love with something out of his reach. He doesn't understand why he can't obtain it and how it seems so close yet so far out his reach. He grows more wild and senile each night from his isolation and rejection.