If - A Cautionary Poem

in #poetry6 years ago

Inspired by a little situation playing out in my life at the moment.

Along with this post from @tarazkp

[image from Canva]

  

If all were lost tomorrow

would you know how to return?

Or is the world around you

Giving more than you should earn?


It comes as little succour 

that all could be okay

If you find tomorrow 

ends up nothing like today.


Plan ahead and leave aside

what little you can spare.

In case the efforts of the past

Are lost as breath to air. 


But all might just work out, you know, 

There's nothing yet to fear.

It does no harm, though, to prepare,

Protect what you hold dear.


We all have something we want to protect, whether it's an item, an ideal, person. It could be anything.

Expect the worst and hope for the best.

Thank you for reading

  A thetalkingduck original


 I'm looking to improve my presentation as I'm not used to writing blogs or on social media much in general, let me know how I can do so please  😊