Forbidden

in #poetry6 years ago (edited)

The first time you think about suicide,
It’s like peeping around the corner
Of some place forbidden.

The second time you think about suicide,
Ordinary objects attract a gleam,
Unnoticed once before.

The third time you think about suicide,
The panic drops like a hailstorm.

The fourth time you




Laco,be.jpg
Eric Lacombe

A quick note

This poem is part of a small series I wrote while navigating the NYC subway system.

not the place for it came about after depression unexpectedly kicked me to the gutter during my time in a city I'd always dreamed of living in. It's my first attempt at poetry and only came about as a result of a microdosing experiment I'd undertaken in an attempt to overcome what I was going through.

This experience of writing out the muck while hurtling through the darkness in an ageing metal snake, while under the influence of psilocybe cubensis helped me claw a way out of the despair in a way traditional therapy was never able to.

Anyway. Just thought you should know that.

Sort:  

I attended the memorial service of an 18-year-old boy who died from suicide last week, so in a way, your post was timely. It's disturbing, yet I felt compelled to read it and look at your artwork. It's quite compelling and powerful. Thanks for sharing!

I'm deeply saddened to hear this is quite a raw subject for you at the moment, popsoz. I don't come close to knowing what it's like to lose a loved one or someone within my community to suicide... Just as tragic as the loss of life in these situations is the immense despair, pain and agonizing confusion that's left behind.
Hopefully the world is willing to open up more of a dialogue around mental health in years to come. Depression is horrible. It's just awful. And there's nothing more confronting and fearful than living with dark thoughts that are maddeningly painful, harmful and (at least in my case) completely irrational, yet impossible to ignore.
Thank you for stopping by and reading, I appreciate it.
Oh, also, the artwork is not mine (I wish I were that insanely talented!) a link is provided beneath the image to the artist's website (hope I've attributed correctly enough, I'm new to steemit! In his works, Eric Lacombe, really captures the experience of melancholy, anxiety and sadness in such a beautiful and haunting way.

Thanks for your thoughts and clarification. I will check out Eric Lacombe's work. I think as a society, we've evolved quite a bit on this subject but still have a long way to go. Thanks for doing your part to spread the word.