The Elusive Sex - ul1yck1ts' poetry archive #1

in #poetry6 years ago (edited)

Hello @ all!
I've been using the holidays to sort through the stacks of old note books I've created in the years of my life so far.

This poem stuck out to me, and I've always regretted not having a platform to share it. Well, now I've found a decent place (thanks steemit <3), so I hope some of you can take inspiration out of it. The particular note-book I found this in, was a travel-diary I kept while hitch-hiking through northern Europe. At the time I was haunted by visions and nightmares of something..let's just say, something nsfw.

I will probably find some other stuff I deem share-worthy, so make sure to check in later.

PC235394.JPG

Oh wanton whore of Babylon
What fires have ye lit?
Oh bloody carcass of my youth,
My name is swollen wet and drips

Sweet seeds upon this barren thigh.
See the fever running high.
Trust the fate I've painted red
I fall into your silver bed,

To nourish on the broken flowers
You threw the mages out their towers.
Now they're singing in free fall:
"Oh sweet mother, bless us all!"

You are one and you are only
What my eyes can make of you.
You're so tall and you're so lonely
But your lies are always true.

Thanks for reading! I'd be honoured by any engagement with the text. Hope you have an illuminating Monday!

Sort:  

Great to see that you are displaying your poetic side here, I think you've got quite the talent! I'm gonna think about it for a while and then see if I can come up with a worthwhile interpretation...unsolicited!

Rock on mate.

Thanks a lot! People interpreting stuff of mine is always really interesting (and scary).
There was a volume of poetry I once had lying around, in which there was a series of poems with an interpretation by the respective authors, followed by an intepretation by another author. It really is crazy how many different things and themes people can see in the same poem. Thanks a lot for your comment, and have a great day!

Thus is the nature of good art (and the constant human need to quantify)!

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @ul1yck1t to be original material and upvoted it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!