Too honest for love?

in #poetry6 years ago

It is fair to say we may have been in this situation and when writing it I did from a male perspective but reading it back I don't see why it could not be from a female perspective as well. Either, way it takes courage, tenacity and more than a little self belief to reach this point. But do the rewards outweigh the risks?


woman-looking-away-1493398138zof.jpg

I want to feel I love you but I'm too afraid to say,

That you would feel contrary in quite a different way.

But if I do not say it, do I not still feel?

Wouldn't this wish just fill my head till it became completely real?

Perhaps it's best to keep my silence so nobody starts to cry,

To go against my nature and live my life a lie.

The risk I take is massive the worst I've ever had,

To gamble certain future joy for the resignation of being sad.

But what is it that I really fear, that the truth cannot defend?

Even if you couldn't love me, I'll always be your friend...

Won't I?

adult-black-and-white-concentration.jpg


Images are free for non-commecial use.

Sort:  

Cool. Transmits a feeling of strong resignation and unwillingness to stop loving.

Thanks. Emotion is the key I think. I don't always write with passion, sometimes with joyful glee or plain silliness. But he muse does with me what she will.