Depression

in #poetry6 years ago

28766493_156366571723870_6931313531904065536_n(1).jpg

Welcome everyone, I hope all are having a delightful week. Ahead of time I would like to thank you for reading, as I mentioned in my introduction I write mainly free-verse poetry, up top is a short piece written by me and it is based on what depression tends to feel like. Anyone who has had to deal with this illness in whichever form it manifests may be able to relate; there is a feeling of an icy cold winter wave of emotions followed by feeling somehow numb, frostbitten and emotionless. I have been dealing with this since a child seeing as I was born with what has been titled as "chronic depression" this means that chemically speaking it does not get better and unless I want to be medicated (which I prefer not to) I simply have to live and deal with the cyclical emotions and with being hypersensitive or again, absolutely emotionless. Most of us with this diagnosis prefer the hypersensitivity, somehow, for at least there is growth and a feeling of being alive much like in Spring or Summer. This winter-like state can cause one to lose all motivation and inspiration to even do the everyday basic things. It is a constant battle many go through. Despite this struggle though I find it is important to focus on "programming" ones brain and ways of reacting; this means being highly aware of the root of one's feelings so as to be able to guide oneself as a child in the dark, knowing this too shall pass, because feelings are not facts and because nature also has dark and cold times, yet it survives against all odds. We may not all be the same or live and feel the same but trust that we are very much part of nature and the way it evolves, the way it has a phase and moment for everything, if this is such then maybe depression is less of an evil and more of a normal beautiful human experience. I am surely wishing all a day full of wondrous interactions and I hope my write maybe gave a bit of perspective even if anything just on my poetry. Until next time. :)

-Cas. WNDRLANDxWRITES

Sort:  

Congratulations @wndrlandxwrites! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 1 year!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Are you a DrugWars early adopter? Benvenuto in famiglia!
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!