On Love and Acceptance

in #poetry7 years ago (edited)

Image Source


As the days go by, I learned to try

On how to distract myself and not to cry,

To focus on keeping my pillows dry

And to stay away from the gaze of your eye.


I would be hypocrite if I say

That I'm not affected anymore in any way.

From what you did that day,

It still hurts like it happened yesterday.


The feeling became bearable

My system made it acceptable,

But you're still on my head; unbeatable,

Untamed, on rampage, but manageable.


This soldier will now surrender

Not because I'm tired, but because I remember

That in this fight, we're not together

You're on one side, while I'm on the other.


It doesn't mean that I can't fight,

It doesn't signify that I lose my might

Or I succumbed into the night;

It means I choose what's right.


My love for you does not falter, 

But if we look on things that matter,

There are forces that are greater

Than what I'm longing and after. 


From the start, the outcome is the same

So, I take the blame in this silly game

Not for you, but for what's left on my name

Not for us, but for the remaining flame.


One of the lessons my father had taught

You see, not all wars are to be fought 

And not all conflicts are to be bought

Because you might be misled and caught.


With acceptance comes enlightenment

Like an armor or protective garment, 

I'll put it on until the day of judgment,

Consider it as my achievement.


This is the second part of On Love and Insanity. Please stay updated for the next part.

It might be on a different context, but since we are talking about acceptance; I dedicate this poem to @surpassinggoogle, @themanualbot, @brokemancode, @wandergirl, @zyrawr, @thegaillery, and @legendarryll. You guys were fantastic!

Sort:  

Good read!


Your post has been upvoted and resteemed by the @bayanihan curation team.

Thank you very much!

keep up the good post!!!

😱😱😱! Thank you so much! I hope I still have the motivation to write more.

Congratulations @ybanezkim26! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes
Award for the number of comments received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Hi there, Kim @ybanezkim26! This poem has been featured in @bayanihan's daily feature of posts. :D You can check it out HERE. Congratulations!

Thank you so much @erangvee and @bayanihan! Knowing that your work has been recognized is one of the best feelings in the world.

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @ybanezkim26 to be original material and upvoted(1.5%) it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

Woww... nice poem tagos sa heart 😍 Following you and lookin' forward for more 👌 See you around! ☺️

Thank you @pingcess! I'm still conceptualizing the next part of the poem. There's a third part. See you around!

Hi @ybanezkim26! Congratulations for being one of the featured authors of @steemph.cebu's "Weekly Feature of Authors".

As a reward, 50% of the SBD rewards will be equally shared among the six of you. Take a look at this post :

Steemph.cebu Weekly Feature of Authors | Week # 1"

This post has received a 0.66 % upvote from @buildawhale thanks to: @ybanezkim26. Send at least 1 SBD to @buildawhale with a post link in the memo field for a portion of the next vote.

To support our daily curation initiative, please vote on my owner, @themarkymark, as a Steem Witness