For Thee and Only Thee

in #poetry6 years ago (edited)

Photo 31-12-2017, 5 27 11 PM.jpg
 

fence.png

 
When you look at me –
Oh! How I wonder what you see!
I am not what every girl wanted to be,
Nor the pretty lady who leaves footprints by the sea.
 
I am not that cool,
not even close to beautiful.
Yet you look at me like I’m a miracle,
Oh! Yes, young man, your eyes locked on mine make me stifle.

I mustn’t feel this way.
If only I could, I would say,
“Dear boy, if I’ll ask you, would you like to stay,
Forever along my side, hand in hand, come what may?”

But then I could not,
Even if I like you a lot.
Such great confidence I never ever got,
How I wish I would be able to give it a shot!

Lo! You have my heart.
I’m afraid you’d tore it apart.
Yet, only you I wanted right from the start.
I beg of you - from me, oh please, thou shall not depart!

My hands are trembling,
Wondering what are you doing.
Can I make your heart skip its usual beating?
Or am I just another game… or your prospect fling?

I still like you though.
It is hopeless for me, I know.
I shall believe that you would like me, somehow,
That this story - unlike the rest - would not end in woe..
 
E N D

 
fence.png
 
Photo above by: Ysa Tumulak
Words above by: Ysa Tumulak
Photo taken at: 10,000 Roses of Cordova, Cebu, Philippines
Special thanks to @jamesanity06 for editing my post divider

Photo 20-01-2018, 10 41 34 PM.jpg

Photo 20-01-2018, 10 15 55 PM.jpg

Sort:  

This post has caught the eye of @MuxxyBot and has been nominated by the curation team.
If chosen it will feature in a curation post by @MuxxyBot.
An image from your post may be featured.
Please reply to this comment if you accept or decline.

With humility, I accept.

Congratulations @ysathewriter! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got your First payout
Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

reading this kinds of poem makes me want to became a poet

You can be one. Just let your heart speak and your soul sing.

Wow, you're doing great! Expecting more from you.

Thank you for dropping by and for liking the poem. 😊

Galing talaga <3 xoxo.

Hindi naman po. Practice-practice pa lang po. Hehe.

Good poem . 😊😊😊

Ay. Thank you. :)

choya :D

Haha. Thanks, She. <3

Im beginning to be a fan of your works... Just let love flow and let love be love... you take my heart on this...

@originalworks

Aw, thank you. :) It has been my dream to touch one's heart without using my hands. I'm glad I just did.

Indeed, more poetic words to read from you... 🤗☺️

Hands down! Ang galing 😊

Thank you po.

Magaling eh. You have talent in this type of genre. Keep posting :)

Yay! Thank you. :)

Congratulations. This post is featured in this week's Muxxybot Poetry Curation Post.

https://steemit.com/curation/@muxxybot/muxxybot-poetry-curation-14

Thank you @muxxybot for choosing me when there’s an abundance of people who wrote poems more beautiful than I can.

This is so humbling on my part. 😊

That knowing it's a risk and not being able to stop yourself... I guess all love is dangerous huh? This poem puts me in a wistful state of mind. Life and love are at the same time so wondrous and so painful.

"I still like you though./It is hopeless for me, I know."

ouch

Following :)

I couldn’t agree more. Everything is a risk. Take it or leave it.

I’m glad you liked it. 😊

Great poem, we need more poets on steemit. If you have a moment please view 2 of mine and let me know what you think. Keep up the good work will be following to see whats next.

https://steemit.com/dsound/@mikehustleinc/the-myth-audio-reading

https://steemit.com/poetry/@mikehustleinc/as-i-lay-here