Steemit Poetry Contest #16 + Winners of #15!

in #poetrycontest6 years ago (edited)



DISCLAIMER - Yes, I know that the Steemit logo has changed, but I like the old one more and do not want to change it :)



logocontest.png




My Greetings To You!




The theme for Steemit Poetry Contest #16 - Imagination




About Prizes:


First Place - 6 SBD

Second Place - 5 SBD

Third Place - 4 SBD

Fourth Place - 3 SBD

Fifth Place - 2 SBD

Sixth Place - 1 SBD




Entries will be accepted within five days from the date of publication of an announcement!

Deadline - February 23 1:00 PM UTC





The winners of the Steemit Poetry Contest #15



1st Place - "Nocturnal Overload" by @nicholas83 @



The junkie shot up one night and ODed and died.

The Narcan used did not work for

it was not exactly from an opioid high.

Yes, he shot up that night and could not write.



Aloud he cried when the words came not

and clutched and banged and beat his heart.

But the bellows did not the rush obscure,

and reality hit when he hit the floor.



He knew not the I that was he, and forgot what he did want to be,

so he searched for comfort where eyes never could see,

to search behind the shadows great,

the elusive thing, nocturnal bliss.






2nd Place - "Long Night" by @isteemithard



The light was bright but has since passed,

now stars above twinkle, some shoot by fast.

Large and white, the moon sits high,

black and blue hues fill the sky,



Out come fireflies, bats, and even a bandicoot,

mice and rabbits run, an owl gives a hoot.

Nocturnal is the name,

survival is the game.



Whats here today maybe gone tomorrow,

except for the wind that blows through Chicago.

They say when darkness comes just wait, soon light will follow,

well lets just say those 'they' have never been to Barrow.






3rd Place - "A NIGHT" by @divineinyang



A night will bare her darkened skin,

Free of fear, or shame of sin.

A night will shine her darkened light,

And in her dome all dreams take flight...



A night will sing a song of sorrow,

And peace will sink in sunken hollows.

A night will shush the noise of day,

And with her charm, shall sentience sway...



A night will call the heat of love,

And splash a passion on the skies above.

A night will dry, a night will rain,

And night, shall forever night remain...






4th Place - "A Knight At Night" by @chrisroberts



I met a knight one night as I was walking through the park,

Perched atop a shining, stately steed.

The knight he said, "The path ahead is swallowed by the dark,

So stick with me and follow where I lead."



The night said "Fear me, tremble boy, you should be home in bed."

The knight said "Stay behind my flaming lance,"

The night said "Turn back now, you fool, my darkness soon shall spread,"

The knight just said "Take courage and a chance."



We pressed on through the dark, and though I didn't know the way,

The knight protected me with light and song.

Fight the night, or else it might your resolution sway;

To give up and go home is more than wrong.






5th Place - "Return Me To The Night" by @calluna



Immerse me in the darkness

Let the night claim me as her own

In this shifting moonlit

I don’t have to be alone



Lay me on the moorland

Where the peat and night are one

Let me fade into the darkness

Until all that was is gone



Let me watch the stars swirl

Through clouds drifting by

Set me free in the night time

Beneath the dew dripped sky






6th Place - "Night in Daylight's Cloak" by @lymmerik



As night is always somewhere upon our spinning globe,

It’s shadows somehow darken our planet’s spinning strobe.

When stars appear up in the sky away from daylight’s robe,

Then dreams will fill our sleep tonight within our frontal lobe.



Awake we are in daylight to seek our fame and hope,

It’s sad to say that sometimes we fail in fear and scope.

When day is done we rest our head with twilight to elope,

It’s just some simple shuteye so tomorrow we may cope.



The night is here upon us and we are barely woke,

We spend our nights in slumber to carry daylight’s yoke.

Near half our life is sleeping for which the night has spoke,

The rest of life is reaching for night in daylight’s cloak.






Rules of The Contest!


  • Only one entry is allowed.

  • Your entry-post must be tagged both #poetry and #poetrycontest

  • The Title must be "SteemitPoetryContest #(with the number of the actual episode)" + the name of your poem.

  • You can use any types of rhyme - End rhyme, Cross rhyme, Internal etc.

  • The size of the poem - three quatrains (one quatrain = four lines).

  • Do not steal! The contest is only original works!






I wish everyone good luck and creativity!





Let's make STEEMIT more interesting and varied together!



Sincerely, Terry Craft.



Sort:  
There are 2 pages
Pages

Here is my entry for this week https://steemit.com/poetry/@isteemithard/steemitpoetrycontest-16-the-imagination

The Imagination

~
Tic toc the clock is dripping,
or wait can it be slipping?
No no silly, you must mean ticking,
shh the clock is listening.

That box of colors with a bird head neck,
has cats for brains, wait what the heck?
A you know what, with a fish you know where,
checking out a pair of shh don't swear.

There's a man over there sitting in a chair,
his back turned in disgrace, or could it be despair?
Son enough is enough, this sounds like dreams,
but dad I saw it I'm not imagining things.

~
copyright2018 steemit.com/@isteemithard

Oh wow thank you so much! It is such an honour to come in 5th, this contest is always so inspiring. Having a theme and structure, as well as the need to rhyme, seems to really help push my creativity. I have written so many poems for each round, and I am always just so grateful to you for inspiring me to write so many new things. It is really the icing on the cake to be picked! Thank you very, very much!

Congrats to all the winners, and thank you @terrycraft for this wonderful contest!
Here is my entry for this week https://steemit.com/ita/@silviu93/poem-no-74-steemitpoetrycontest-16-imagination-immaginazione .

https://steemit.com/poetry/@mdbrantingham/steemitpoetrycontest-16-image-in-nations

IMAGE IN NATIONS

I magine nations fearlessly entwined,
M obile citizens and open borders,
A narchies transparently inclined,
G overned only by internal orders.

I magine nations bound by common will,
N ot twisted by the motives of a few,
A narchy empowered to fulfill
T errestrial potentials anew.

I magine nations coming together
O bligated by the common weal,
N ecessitated by a love of brother,
S ociety embracing what is real.

Love it! The word play and the acrostic are terrific!

Thanks for the win. It means so much to me. and congrats to the other winners also.

Congrats to all the winners of contest-15, and thanks to @terrycraft once again for making this contest possible.....here is my entry for contest-16
https://steemit.com/poetry/@fqtee/steemitpoetrycontest-16-imagination-story-of-a-poet

@terrycraft,
Thanks for Contest # 16!
Here is my entry.

I See You Now!
By: @Lymmerik

A journey through my mind last night. Your voice kept saying, “go left, no right.”
I felt your strange and constant stare. But when I looked, you were not there.
“Hey,” I asked, “are you for real? Some insight now would be ideal.”
“Third eyes are keen,” you said to me. “I am unseen, but you believe.”

Upon your back I perched to peer. A distant mist, but aft is clear.
You gave me hope. I could relate. My path ahead, behind me lay.
“Your question is, do I exist?” And then you said, “unlock, untwist.”
“Are you,” I asked, “behind the veil? And should I stalk neglected trails?”

You take me here, you take me there. At times, you take me everywhere.
What and where and when and how? So why ignore you here and now?
“I see,” I said, “it’s up to me. What’s locked is blocked without a key.”
You challenged me with inspiration. I see you now…imagination.”

Thank you for taking the time to read my ramblings!
@Lymmerik
Please visit my blog to read I See You Now! CLICK HERE

That was fun, and definitely no a limerick... lol!

@fishyculture,
Thx. Not a limerick here. I really love this contest. One of my favorites.
@Lymmerik

Go ahead.Thanks for sharing us a poetry that is an eduvative value about all steemians. We can take out a lot of information from your post.I always visit your site & wait for your upcming post.
Thanks #terrycraft
@Resteem & follow has been done.

@#$%. That's a devastating poem! Building creepily until the full force of accumulated tension releases, unexpectedly, in that last line...

Love this.

Here's my entry for this week,
https://steemit.com/poetry/@francistagbo/steemitpoetrycontest-16-my-imaginarium-d3fb62953ef03

Take a walk with me as I stroll through my mind
Through stories untold and fantasies in time
This world within another only I can find
Where being normal is a perpetuated crime

Welcome to my imaginarium
Where anything is possible
Locked up in my cranium
With creativity inexhaustible

I'll trade you my stories for your elation
Come closer so I can share
This is the @francistagbo imagination
No others can compare

Hi @terrycraft. About the deadline for the ep #16 do you mean february 23 ?

Yes! )

Ok. Thank you! 😁😁

Nice concept but am not happy i wasn't part of the contest, please when is it coming up again? Would love to take part. Thank ypu

Congratulations to the winners

Thank you for sharing this with us the result, we appreciate that. @terrycraft

Steady post, thanks for the information

Great poems, Winners, well deserved,
I got excited to submit an entry for the next ..
Its gonna be interesting,,,, Good idea @terrycraft

@terrycraft is this an old post or just a mistype on the date? It says January 23. I am asking because I am thinking of joining. And I was not updated on your recent contests, sorry. :)

February, of course. )

All right! Time to make my contest piece. Thank you :)

Omg. This is nice. I wish I can try next time.

Dear sir @terrycraft,

Thank you for sharing works of steemian poets. Thank you for the appreciation too.

I would also like to confirm for the deadline? Is supposed to be on February 23?

Thank you.

Respectfully,

@morken

Oops) I fix it - yes, February, of course. Thank )

Thank you @Terrycraft for the quick response!

Lovelots, @morken

Wow great theme for the new contest. Great job friend, I will again try to swim in the world of imagination. Thanks.

Manta skali

Hi @terrycraft i wanted to join and participate on your contest. Do i need to post my entry on the COMMENT section just like what your viewers did on your previous contest or just tag poetry/poetrycontest? Thanks! Best regards..

Hello.

Second variant - post under your account with poetry/poetrycontest tags.

Good luck!

Awesome upvote? Boy

Hi, terrycraft, I'm going to participate in this contest.

@terrycraft,
Thanks for the contest and thank you for judging my poem for 6th place. Congratulations to all the winners. See you in contest # 16.
@Lymmerik

I love your style! :)

@terrycraft,
Thank you. I am flattered by your compliment . It just erupts from this crazy imagination.
@Lymmerik

Hola! This is my entry link
https://steemit.com/poetry/@nikisteem/steemit-poetry-contest-16-limitless

Do you need me to post it in this comment thread as well?

Write4Life xoxo @nikisteem

Do you need me to post it in this comment thread as well?

nope )

Beautiful!
Have everyones imagination on leash while writing the next one!

Hi!

I can't wait to see your next poem. You're doing great! Thank you for participating.

I am very grateful to you sir, for considering my work worthy of such honour. Looking forward to the next one..

Thanks so much for picking me for 2nd place it means a lot and will push me to put even more thought and effort into this next round. I really enjoyed "Night in Daylight's Cloak" by @lymmerik and "Nocturnal Overload" by @nicholas83

Hello.

Your poem touched me, really! Maybe it's not saturated with metaphors and other play of words, but it does convey feelings! In fact, it is very difficult to choose, because any choice is just my subjective opinion... but really great poems more and more!

Inspiring!

I believe Feelings are what poetry is all about. But not just the basic feelings like; anger, love, happy, sad, hot or cold. I think its all the feelings, all senses that can be.

side note: Even though the logo on steemit has changed the logo for Steem is still the same so your logo is just as Great.

@moneyinfant has added your contest to the list Steemit Writing Contests: Issue #24. The list is updated on a daily basis and your contest will remain on the list until its expiration - there's nothing you need to do.

The list was created to save writers the excessive amount of time spent searching through the #contest tag for writing contests. Now they can just come to the list each day, see new contests and use their time doing what they love - writing.

If you'd like to help spread the word about the Steemit Writing Contest List I'd really appreciate a resteem, but it certainly isn't necessary. The project is simply meant to help writers save time and contest creators attract more contestants.

P.S. If you know of any contests I've missed I'd love to hear about them. Thanks!

Congrats to all winner! Some excellent entries.

This is my entry to the contest

https://steemit.com/poetry/@gaintshoulder/steemitpoetrycontest-16-imagine-a-world-with-love-4ef922270de92

Imagine a world
Where there is love to share
And no one has a reason to beg
To get their daily bread

Imagine a time
When a man's world will suffice
Because there is no reason to lie
A time when there was trust

Imagine if people
Decide to show more care
Nobody will have a reason to despair
Because no back will lay bare

Here is my entry for this week. Congrats to the winners. I hope i win this time...

https://steemit.com/poetry/@seesladen/steemit-poetry-contest-16-stirring-the-muse-my-imagination

this great @terrycraft this an opportunity to the minnow who had an talent in writing poetry, I try to do my best thanks for this contest.

My first ever entry for the poetry contest! I tried to give it a little imagination, a broad but delicious topic. Thanks for hosting @terrcraft good luck everyone :)
15190665029321509230814.jpg
https://steemit.com/poetrycontest/@theflorescents/steemit-poetry-contest-16-step-outside-the-thinking-box-catch-22

Here's my entry for Contest #16. You can also see it below :)



Image Source

Stigmatized

Stigmatized.
Marked for everyone to see,
Raw, open, bleeding out,
Unable to heal my heart.

Stigmatized.
Laying there untreated, undone,
Broken, scarred, inside out,
Trying to sew the holes that have come undone.

Stigmatized.
Glued together piece by piece,
Only to have another piece torn open again,
Stigmatized, marked for everyone to see.

-@bleedinheart

Big thank you for holding this contest. I've never shared my work before and it feels great to have an opportunity to do so. I hope you enjoy!

thanks @terrycraft for this amazing contest..!
congrats to all winners!

by the way here is my entry for this weekhttps://steemit.com/poetry/@xorexman/steemit-poetry-contest-16-fairytale

thank you so much

Here's my entry! Have a wonderful time flowing through all of the beautiful poetry this contest creates! One love!


Imagination - the true ruler of nation

I would like to enter my poem into this weeks contest. https://steemit.com/poem/@royaleagle/steemit-poetry-contest-16-anger

There are 2 pages
Pages