(EN) POEM : A WEDDING PRAYER

in #poetsunited6 years ago (edited)

Diane.png
An image from our Chaos music video

Hey Steemians!
I must admit my poetry can get dark at times, but it can also get filled with amour. Here is a poem I have composed for the wedding of two people I love. I hope you'll enjoy it.

A WEDDING PRAYER

May every night be a wedding night,
And every morning a country beyond
Troubled seas and tiny ponds,
Winter’s breeze and the time’s bite,
Birds of prey and thunderbirds,

A secret country above words,
Above all of the fleeting « no »,
Above the one everlasting « yes »,
As you were wed ages ago,
And ages ago this union blessed,
By sea spray and shared sundays,
By coffee, red wine and cheese,
By hidden stars, barking birds, even spiders,
By this old good land of wonder,
From the edge of its red shore,
To all the depths still unexplored.

You were blessed I swear,
Now hold on to each other,
Be a warm and thick cover,
As we never cease to lay bare.

Hold on as tight as can be,
Like two tongues in a french kiss,
Bonny and Clyde on a crime spree,
Like children at the serpent’s hiss
Like two hands on a drunken boat,
Be the gentle heart and the bliss,
be the rope and the sinner’s throat.

Love is but an endless car chase,
Love is but a warmer kind of fall,
It’s a film you can truly embrace,
It’s a birth you can forever recall,

Hold on, my brother, hold on,
This one is a wildflower honey
This one is of velvet and gold
Hold on, my sister, hold on,
This one is your alchemy,
As of now, you’ll never feel cold.

SCRIBE

Sort:  

What a heartfelt piece. Will you be reciting it at their wedding?

Hey @Veckinon , thank you very much! Yes I will, in English and French as they speak both. :)

Love is but an endless car chase,
Love is but a warmer kind of fall,
It’s a film you can truly embrace,
It’s a birth you can forever recall,

Brilliant stuff mate, I hope the lucky couple get as much joy from this as I just did. You've quickly become one of my favourite writers on my watchlist - looking forward to more great content in the future. Cheers!

Thank you very much Lazarus, good bc your poetry has impressed me very much as well :)

A truly thoughtful and warm occasional poem. I'm sure they will really love this.

Thanks sir :) I hope they will!

Congratulations human. This post is included in today's Muxxybot curation post.

https://steemit.com/curation/@muxxybot/muxxybot-curation-70

Congratulations @chaosreignstv! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got your First payout

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Do not miss the last announcement from @steemitboard!