Being Me

in #poetsunited6 years ago (edited)

image

Image source: http://www.picturequotes.com

They tell me I'm not who I used to be,
They said I've dropped my manners,
And picked up habits from the streets.
I, ignorant of what they are saying,
Cry and work so hard,
To become who they claim I used to be,
But, look, I can't channel myself to suit their taste,
But then, I can't tolerate their frequent rantings.
They make me look like I'm an angel turned devil,
I work towards getting better,
But then, I can't change the person I've grown to be.

I feel so normal,
Can't see where or how much I've changed,
But then every passing minute they remind me of my ill-mannerism,
They say, "Girl you've changed so much.
What really happened to you?
Did some kind of evil spirit possess you? "
Soberly, I sit, self-absorbed I cry.
I just want to be by myself,
Loneliness seems to be my drug and cure,
It might be the only way I'll not feel so wronged.
Loneliness please, I beg, come be my closest associate.

Now, I walk among the shadows,
Withdrawn from reality I seem,
Like a Lone Wolf I roam the forest,
So often, I offer prayers to the heavens,
To redeem me and bring me back to reality,
But this seems like an impossible task,
I sit and watch my dreams get broken,
My failing heart I try to mend,
For tears I think I may never recover,
It really is hard to return to being who I used to be.


Hey guys!! @miraeff is back. Finally my short holiday from Steemit has ended. Special thanks to @ubongj for the motivation. Yeah...so this piece was written because if what I faced few days before my school closed.... I won't go into details but trust me it was painful... sobs... But I've gotten over it now and I feel very much like me... And I wanna tell y'all out there who feel you're not who you "used" to be... Wave off the thought and ride on with your life... No one has the right to dictate your life... winks

Sort:  

damn! i bet a lot of people can relate to this. amazing poem!

Thanks a bunch