Winona, MN Vet teaches youngsters about the past and sacrifice

in #pokemon8 years ago

I saw this real life news story today and it made me so sad for so many reasons. At first I didn’t know why it bothered me so much and I really wanted to write about it. I didn’t want to say what was wrong who did what and why; please read the story and decide for yourself. http://www.kare11.com/news/winona-vet-confronts-pokemon-players-in-park/284867030

This is the conversation I wish would have happened

Vet: Hey youngster what are you doing here
Youngster: I’m playing Pokemon GO it’s a really fun game and this is a pokestop a special place in the game.
Vet: This is a special place to me too, do you know why?
Youngster: No sir
Vet: Do you see that monument with the names on it?
Youngster: Yes sir
Vet: Those were my friends, They weren't much older than you when they were killed thousands of miles away from here in a place called Vietnam. It was before you were born.
Youngster: Why were they killed?
Vet: That’s a tough question, but simply enough so that you can play pokemon here and do all the other things that you love.
Youngster: Wow thanks mister. I’m really sorry your friends died.
Vet: Me too.

Sorry I'm so naive to believe such an exchange would actually happen. Instead a brave veteran is charged with a crime, the youngster still has no respect for what happened all those years ago and I'm left feeling sad about what could have been.

Sort:  

Hallowed ground indeed, I was at the WW2 memorial in Washington DC a few years back and saw lots of folks climbing on monuments, wading in fountains etc, and it made me sick. I don't know that people understand the significance of these hallowed places really is. As a vet, I sure do.

I agree these monuments are sacred. That being said this particular vet missed a golden opportunity to teach these young people about what happened and what it actually means.