You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Full-Blown American Engagement in Doublethink

in #politics8 years ago

I don't see you as an opponent at all, and I'm sorry if I gave you that impression. I address things very directly, so if I came off as though I was criticizing you harshly, I apologize. However, where you and I differ is that, as of right now, you are still calling for a state to exist. I'm simply arguing that a state, by its very nature, does more to damage and infringe on people's lives than a world without states would.

I agree that nature is unforgiving and cruel, and this has been the struggle of humanity since we first discovered how to create and use fire, or how to fashion tools to make our tasks easier. However, I'd also like to point out that over the course of the last three hundred years, concepts such as individuality, property rights, bodily ownership, and individual liberties that are inalienable have come into existence, where previously no such concepts existed (or had taken such universal forms). To say that, because it failed in the past, it won't work in the future, is simply an appeal to antiquity. That's why the focus should be on spreading the message of individual liberty and a rejection of arbitrary authority.

I'm not seeking to impose anything on anyone. I'm simply pointing out that a state, by definition, restricts the rights of people with or without their consent, and this is objectively immoral; put another way, every state on this Earth lays a monopolistic claim to a territory and enforces its rules on all people within that territory, whether they consent to be ruled by that state, through the use of violence. Aside from the immorality of such an organization, it is a guarantee that it will be abused by people who would seek to be a part of it for their own personal gain. This has been proven throughout history, where benevolent rulers and governments that didn't abuse their people are the exception, not the rule. Lest I also make an appeal to antiquity, think of it logically: if I'm a sociopath and want to use other people for my own purposes and interests without running afoul of people with power, what's the best way to do it in modern society? Become an agent of government. The more power I wield in government, the more far-reaching and widespread the effect of any policies I manage to put into practice.

I don't see you as an opponent, Noelle. I just don't want you to expend your energies on supporting a structure that necessarily inflicts suffering on other people. Your heart is absolutely in the right place, and I applaud you for it; most people don't even make it that far.