Lara Trump for Senate? It could happen

in #politics3 years ago

I for one didn't even know that she was a resident here let alone eligible to run for a senate seat for North Carolina. I suppose that doesn't really matter all that much since Hillary ran for office in New York shortly after becoming a resident.

Personally, when I moved to another state becoming a resident wasn't as easy as one would hope... not in an official capacity anyway but I would imagine that just like most things, getting stuff done is far easier for the rich and famous.


src

This is all pure speculation at this point about whether or not Lara is serious about this or not but Richard Burr, who has held the Senate seat in North Carolina since 2004, announced after winning in 2016 that he would not seek a fourth term. So that seat is up for grabs and I think that I can say with some level of certainty, if a Trump wanted to run on the Republican ticket, that there probably wouldn't be much opposition to her doing so as far as the Republican side of things are concerned here in North Carolina.

Just to clear up any ambiguity, Lara Trump is not blood related to Donald Trump but is the wife of his son Eric.


src

Lara did a lot of campaigning for her father in law in North Carolina this year and there are a lot of people that associate anything related to the Trump name as being bad so it could end up being a tough race even though Republicans tend to control the Senate seats in North Carolina for reasons I'm not going to pretend to know. I can only speculate that even though NC is considered a "swing state" in Presidential elections that local and state elections outside of major cities tend to "swing" in the conservative direction.

Would she get my vote? I don't know much about her and I like to think that I am not a party affiliate. I also am not Republican. I want to believe that I vote based on the ideal and ideas of the person involved but in that regard you can almost always count for me to never vote for a Democrat since I disagree with a vast majority of what that party stands for, particularly when it comes to anything fiscally related. This should come as no surprise to anyone that understands what it means to be a Libertarian but basically I want the government to take as little of our money in taxes as possible and also interfere with our pursuit of life, liberty, and happiness as little as possible.

Kind of a "stay off my lawn" type perspective.

It really wouldn't surprise me if the Trump's end up becoming the new political family in the United States, there certainly are enough fervent supporters in most states and areas to ensure that people would vote for them even if they don't deserve the job. Low information conservative voters would automatically vote for her or any other Trump and I am not presenting this as necessarily good, but just as a fact.

We'll probably have to wait a while to find out if this is true because at the moment Lara is still pretty entrenched with all the going on's of her father-in-law's administration.

Is this good news or bad news? I suppose it depends on how you feel. For now in my mind, it is simply news and a bit of a surprise because I had no idea that she was even a North Carolinian.

Sort:  

It's all hearsay up to the point someone announces their candidacy, so let's wait and see

Oh of course, especially since the source that claims to have been privy to this information isn't even named and is referred to in that usual very vague way that the media loves to put out there. :)