I'm Charlie Cavell and I don't know why we accept things the way they are

in #politics7 years ago (edited)

The thing I care most about is dispelling the myth that the way things are is the way they ought to be.

trump speech.jpg
I organized the protest of Donald Trump's Economic Policy speech in Detroit in September of 2016. Here I am about to get thrown out by the Secret Service at the speech.

Why do people work 40 hours per week for 30 years?
Why do people accept homelessness?
Why do people tear one another down?

Did we as a species always work?
Did we as a society always lack empathy for our neighbor?
Did we as a culture always compete so ferociously?

Regardless of what you see the answer being, why must we even ask such devastating questions?

12108163_10206381725439181_8114091362946654819_n.jpg
Me in the middle with a family I lived with for a while as a kid. Jasyn is on the left and Brandyn is on the right.

I have found myself at the crossroads of microcosms of systems that do not work in most peoples interests, and yet we carry on. I have run a non-profit organization, been a fundraiser for a United States Senator, worked in start-ups and traveled to every continent except Antarctica for extensive amounts of time. I have been able to see an inordinate amount of the way things work, and I'd like to do what I can to expose the flaws in these systems as I've seen them.

Politics, non-profits, start-ups and the inequities of the world. These are the sectors of the economy I've been a part of. As a child I was raised by a single parent who ended up going to jail. I have been on medicaid and unemployment. These experiences have taught me about the faults in government too.

I am here on steemit to practice my pitch to whoever seems interested in hearing about the way things are, the way they can be and the way they ought to be.

IMG_0394.JPG
O hello there Steemit

Overall, I'd like us to move politically, economically and socially to a place driven by passion not profit. My goal in life is to empower people to recognize their potential. However, most of us can't even recognize, let alone reach, our potential when we're trapped in a florescent lit cubicle.

Looking forward to sharing more with yall!

15317988_10154599241526399_8274496282849365008_n.jpg
-Charlie

Sort:  

Charlie! Welcome to Steemit brotha‘! Excited to have another friend on the network. Steemit can definitely use insight like yours! Looking forward to diving deep into politics with you. Welcome!

I like this. Welcome aboard! Definitely liking what I'm seeing and can't wait to hear more from you.

I'm the #1 fan of man stickage, so I think that we'll get along just fiiiine.

Welcome to Steemit @cooliocharlie, great to have you here and looking forward to more! Enjoy!

I agree with you in respects to the direction in which humanity has been led down! I think this is a great post ....following and upvoted!

So glad to see you here Charlie. You're going to do great things bud!

A tip of the hat to you, brother.

Good luck man I think we will see amazing changes in the world sooner than we all realize :) that's amazing! Up voted and following :)

happy to see more people we are on the same page

I don't think the world will ever be fixed, but it is never too bad to point out its flaws. I'm on board for further reading.

Perhaps, however I believe it can be fixed; just not in the current format we conduct our day to day. For one thing I do not believe that man was meant to be governed in the way in which he currently is. Man has but a handful of simple laws that we must follow and after that we are free to pursue whatever type of life we want. Secondly, I believe that the way we treat one another is an exact replication of how we treat our planet and we are only getting worse.

If we want to make changes to our world then we MUST stop relying on snakes and vultures to do it for us. Sending these men and women off to do our bidding when their only interest are profits and perks will never get the job done. There are 7 billion of us on this planet and we have already seen, for centuries what we can do when we refuse to embrace, love one another and work together - and the results are putting us closer and closer to extinction (yea I know its an extreme statement, but one I firmly stand by). Einstein said that doing something over and over again expecting different results was the definition of crazy; so how about we try finally working together, taking responsibility for our actions and moving forward to a common goal that should be the end result for every last single one of us.....

Peace

Love and working together are extremely vague concepts that will never work as a base for anything tangible. I don't mean to confront your aspirations - I am all for the beauty in the world myself and I am very critical of education (my field) and would like to see it improved, but I don't think that there is anything actionable in "love" and "collaboration" that can fix the world comprised of 7 billion individualities. They are not "solutions" in any form unless clearly defined and those definitions are agreed upon.

I am curious what kind of world you imagine when all is fixed. What will it be like?

My real-world view on humanity is vastly different than my "dream" for humanity.

What I mean by that is while I believe that the only way we are going to fix everything that is wrong with the world is by working together, I don't necessarily believe that we will achieve that. Yes, I do believe that it will take a collective effort from the majority of the planet because each countries citizenry plays a role on the negative impacts we are not inflicting on us but on the planet/ecosystem as well.

And I wholeheartedly agree with you that education needs to be changed to create the necessary models that put us in the direction needed to invoke the changes we need, in order to fix; as a father I know the importance of our children and how crucial it is for us to put them on the correct path. They are our future after all! I think through the proper education and guidance then yes, love and collaboration can be added to that.

I think the biggest challenge is where to start. The hole we have dug for ourselves is extremely deep and I think you do make a valid point - it will take a lot more than "love and collaboration"....And that I agree..

Lol man I wish I could pain that picture for you..I think my vision isn't so much hugs and kisses but rather a shift from destructive technology to useful technology that moves us from the forms of energy we use today to free energy. I see a stronger effort to clean up the planet from the destruction we have subjected her to over the last 200 centuries. I see a new type of lifestyle that requires less "currency" and more living? Its hard to articulate it but the Utopian model, I think, will never work...At least not until we fix a lot of the inner issues that are mandatory (such as education) first...

And no worries. I love back and forth. Ideas, collaboration and dialogue are the only way we can even begin to start to move into the right directions. I personally feel before we do anything we need to remove the corruption that is taking hold of humanity first.

Hm, I see. Am I right to interpret your position as a call for responsibility? With that I agree. Although the notion of responsibility is pretty vague, too. In fact, I am writing all this because I myself have been very much confused about thing. I just wrote a post about the importance of clarity, and that pretty much summarizes my recent views on any initiative of change. In my opinion, it is extremely important to clarify what you mean by the words you use (most of them can be interpreted in a number of ways, including "love", "responsibility", and "collaboration"). It is also important to agree on the end result that will emerge from the negotiation of the key terms, and only then you can build something.

And that's where the 7-billion-people puzzle begins. How the hell do you get everybody on board? Provided you have already formulated a clear, unambiguous vision of what you are trying to achieve, how do you deliver it to the rest of the people?

Ok, this has just furthered my thinking. =) I should probably mull this over a bit more and write a post about it)

Excellent!

Well let's break it down like this because I agree with the vague nature of some of these words.

Love - not to be confused with that "butterfly" feeling. When I reference love, I mean it in a way that correlates with the ability for each and every one of us to realize that violence begets violence and that this is the only home we have; so lets stop waging wars against one another and start taking more care of our home.

Responsibility - meaning that we each have to play a part individually rather than expecting others to handle some of the issues we are faced with. Relying on government to provide us healthcare when all we need to do is take care of ourselves, exercise and eat foods that are beneficial to the human body. Growing your own food. Reducing your carbon footprint

Collaboration - finding like minded individuals; in your case, finding other educators and coming up with ways to reinvent our education system to benefit our youth and point them in the same direction we need to move. The same is said for the sciences, health, technology and art. I think when these sectors collaborate is when we start to see progress....

And lastly, you are right, we will never get all 7 billion of us to move in one direction, but I think if we "collaborate" in the above manner then we can start to pull more and more people on board. Its a process that will take years, if not decades to accomplish but I imagine that if 5 billion people want to move towards peace, there isn't much the other 2 can do about it. Similar to the current geo-political structure, where you have 7 billion people and a couple thousand elite....their is nothing they can do if we don't allow it!

Well, I had very different definitions of those. I see what you mean by them, though. The universal virtues are all there in your descriptions, often referred to by other names as well. And you also make a concession that you can't get all the people be like that.

In my opinion, if 5 billion people are happy with this new system, while 2 billions are not, what is the difference? There are still unhappy people! I really doubt it is really possible to make a happy world - somebody will be oppressed or punished, and that's exactly what we already have - oppression and punishment for going against it. The question is just who is oppressed and who is punished, and that's what changes bring - a change in who is the oppressor and who is being oppressed. A century later you will have new categories of unhappy people calling for integrity and equality.

Frankly, I feel like we can only more or less talk about our personal happiness as it is situated in the present - with all the limitations and unfairness of the world. I agree that happiness is in our own hands. And since you can't fix the world, making that happiness and protecting it are the very meaning in life to me.

How to make yourself happy without hurting other people, which would arguably be a wonderful world to live in, is a whole different topic, though. And I think psychology has an answer.

Just dont give a fuck about someone's opinion! Cheers!

Welcome to Steem @cooliocharlie I have sent you a tip

You have sent 0.001 SBD as a tip, get the fuck out of here

Hi, :)
I left school and protested against what you are talking about. I was the only one in my friends circle who said No to what I didn' like. No chance. I had so many negative outcomes because I did what was right. Welcome.

Welcome to Steemit, Charlie!

How's life goin @cooliocharlie Welcome To Steemit . This New House for blogger and social network platform. I will wait for your great post on your blog. Two thumbs for you and i like it so much. Keep Steeming and earn big money as a reward on each post. Good luck guy !!. Im waitin for you to come. Visit my blog I ve latest post about "Celebration Of 600+. Followers are Friends and Relatives". You can use Esteem Application in Playstore and AppStore - iOS in order to create post easily. #suggestion. Nice to meet you here. Me #taufar a steemian from Aceh

Congratulations @cooliocharlie! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Congratulations @cooliocharlie! You have received a personal award!

1 Year on Steemit
Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard!


Participate in the SteemitBoard World Cup Contest!
Collect World Cup badges and win free SBD
Support the Gold Sponsors of the contest: @good-karma and @lukestokes


Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @cooliocharlie! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!