You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Reichstag is burning: An open letter to my elected officials

in #politics4 years ago

Response letter from my state senator, Laura Fine:

Thank you for contacting me about this important issue. We are suffering from two pandemics in our country: Racism and COVID-19. Both require our attention, and neither can wait. "I am my brother's keeper." We cannot stand by as our world crumbles. We must do all we can to repair it for future generations. Across the area, young people have been setting the tone for our future. This weekend they organized peacefully to bring thousands together in a show of strength and solidarity and I was proud to stand and march with them. Our future will be protected in their hands.

I stand in support of my colleagues in Illinois Legislative Black Caucus and the many crucial reforms that they have suggested.

Thank you again for reaching out. Stay well.