Name Calling and Labelling by Those Without an Argument

in #politics7 years ago

Your an extremist, right wing, hate talker, Nazi, white supremacist, racist fascist

OK… Tell me specifically how I am that?

Because you are, your scum

OK… Well that doesn’t answer my question. Again, tell me specifically what I have said or done to warrant such accusations?

I’m not talking to someone like you, you fascist, free speech not hate speech, no more hate!, no more hate!

And the shouting continues without ever justifying their position or entering into a reasonable debate. It’s like trying to have an adult conversation with an infant. It’s like being back in the playground at school when attempting to communicate with people like this. Cowardly, confused, intellectually lazy, bereft of factual information and behaving in the same manner of what they say they oppose. This is happening so much now in the UK and even more so in America especially across colleges, universities and mainstream media. Being able to hold a reasonable argument where the evidence and truth can prevail, rather than the individual, is almost impossible now with some people.

I had this exact experience on Steemit recently with a user called malekalmsaddi. He flagged most of my articles despite him admitting that he did not even read them! He said I am an extremist propagating hate speech (without actually reading the articles!). So, I asked him on several occasions to specifically point out what in my articles justifies his position. His response was to just continue with the name calling and not even attempt to explain himself.

For example, I posted an article which linked to a video of an ex Muslim who became Christian and then got hospitalised, had gangs outside his house throwing things through his window, members of his family and the community at large disowned him and he eventually had to leave under police protection. The article was to highlight that there is a big problem with people who want to leave Islam, which there is, and that I don’t want ex Muslims to get hurt. I thought it was terrible what happened to this man and many others like him up and down the country. However, malekalmsaddi flagged it and called me an extremist writing hate speech. Not once did he condemn the people who nearly killed this man or show any sympathy for him. I asked malekalmsaddi to tell me how I am these things from this article but he didn’t. He did however just repeat the slander.

You know, it maybe possible that I did overstep the mark sometimes in some of my articles, but if you think that this is the case then you need to explain to me specifically how I did so that I can reflect upon it and possibly change my viewpoint. That is the way to go about it in the civilised adult world. Just calling me names over and over again and trying to censor me just makes you look stupid, close minded and obviously without an argument.

Sort:  

Congratulations @david-michael! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

It is a big problem to be called by name by pointing out what is obviously not right. Steemit system needs to be improved.