You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Is This What Was Meant By The Meek Inheriting The Earth?

in #politics2 years ago

Honestly, aside from fear of public cancellation (which is fair, as it's costing so many their livelihoods), I think being honest and open about what you believe on "controversial topics" starts when you trust yourself. I find myself fall prey to the popular self-censorship that's taken over our society. Briefly, never for long, but long enough to reaffirm to myself that I'm a good person, that I care about other beings,and that the people whose voice typically rises in protest against this madness are good, decent people, too.

The word "liberal" has been bastardized and robbed of its once noble meaning, but I do think of myself as liberal in the true form of the word. And as long as I know who I am, and that what I say comes not from hatred, but love, I don't feel an ounce of guilt saying this madness has gone too far.

For everyone. As you said, I think the gays and the lesbians will be most hard-hit when the shit hits the fan. And it's bound to. We are in a place of extremity, and it'll most likely ricochet into another. And these groups will also be targeted because they've been lumped together with this corruption of children.

Perhaps it isn't a Carlin that we need as much as thousands of rational people to gain the confidence to speak their minds. To stop fearing being labeled a bigot when that word has been so overused it has lost its meaning anyway.

I was just talking to a friend about this. And I'm hopeful that more and more people are becoming less afraid to speak their mind and call for reason and common sense. But I can't tell if it's really going in that direction, or I just follow a lot of people with similar views to mine (which is to say balanced).

I admit even I feel slight trepidation at the thought of making this public

Don't. Your writing is balanced and reasonable and kind. If people would accuse you of bigotry or think you some crazed fascist for writing what you did, that shows narrow-mindedness and a general problem on their part. Not yours.

Thank you for the thought-provoking post. Have you read Abigail Shrier's "Irreversible Damage"?

Sort:  
Loading...