I am not a politician campaigning for change, I am a man fighting to change the politician.

in #politics6 years ago (edited)

democracy two wolves and a sheep.jpg
I have been involved in the fight for true liberty for about 12 years now, in that 12 years I have learned and grown a lot. One moment thinking I knew exactly what needs to happen for everyone to be free and happy to the next moment realizing that the only thing I know is how I can make myself happy and try to create a society of freedom so others can form there own version of happiness. I have gone from a total statist 12 years ago to a full blown libertarian now(mostly thanks to Ron Paul, Adam Kokesh and Richard Mack). I have realized that I do not and will never agree with everyone on every issue, nor agree with everyone on how they should live their life. It was with that realization that I now know, neither does any of these politicians who claim to know what is best and will carry that message to the capitol.

The political environment we have created today is toxic to the American people. It is a place where corruption runs rampant and is covered up as long as you know the right people. Where taking bribes is commonplace and campaigning as one person and becoming another after the election is normal. Where the Washington elite are bought and paid for by big donors and can buy there place in politics with no regard to the people they represent. When the founders created the most free country on earth and gave us documents protecting our rights and freedoms they left it up to us to defend and enhance this message of liberty, instead we have degenerated into a place of government entitlement making slaves of its people.

I have thought for years about running for political office but have been so disgusted with the whole thing that I have never followed through. However I have recently taken the step to campaign for US Congress in Texas as a libertarian. I would like my campaign to win but its not about winning or losing, its about presenting the message of liberty to more of the public. It is giving people the freedom and the tools to decide how to govern themselves. Allowing people to decide how they live, how to raise children and what they can and cannot put in their bodies.

Either way, win or lose, I want to change how people think about freedom, and in the long run change how politicians think about politics. Libertarianism and true freedom is the way of the future, not the statist plank of more government involvement in war, life, property, taxes, economy and less freedom. I am not a politician campaigning for change, I am a man fighting to change the politician.

I am running for US Congress District 31 in Texas, you can view my FB page @libertarianhope.