You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Food for Thought

in #politics5 years ago

I agree with many of your points, as well as many of the points of the OP. I'd like to suggest that the biggest issue is the division, the name calling, and the blaming on both sides of the aisle.

To me, it's not a matter of Democrats VS Republicans. That is a strategy designed to ensure that We the People do not work together to reach mutual goals. At the end of the day, we all want the same basic things. We differ on the best way to achieve those things. I would love to see political discussions drop the labels and focus solely on the issues.

#powerhousecreatives

Sort:  

We do need more discussion and less finger pointing, but sometimes it's hard not to, especially when people become irate and rational conversation flies out of the window (myself included). Also, my political leaning is more libertarian than either Republican or Democrat, although I am in no way a supporter of open borders, even heaven has a gate and a gatekeeper.

I wrote this post mostly because I live in a state with one of the lowest crime rates, as well as some of the best 2nd Amendment laws. As soon as the Democrats took control of our HoR's and Senate, the first thing they attacked was our gun laws. They are pushing at least 8 new laws, while also proposing one billion dollars in increased taxes.

So, I would have to say there are very few things that I would agree with that the DNC has in mind for this state and country. But I do agree with what you're saying @mattifer that We The People need to discuss these issues and find ways to resolve them.

I've found that most of the time it boils down to semantics. People are often meaning very similar things, but saying very different things. Even on the issue of gun control. Ignorance is key here - individuals don't know as much as they think they do about how our system works regarding access to guns. Through education, you'll often find that individuals (specifically not parties) will change large parts of their anti- gun stance once you've gotten through all the rhetoric and misinformation.