Learning to say nothing

in #politics3 years ago

I'm of the impression that if you follow politics long enough, you either learn how to do this yourself, or you dive in head first into cynicism.



Feature, not a bug


When I complain about this to someone (usually the wife), I'm reminded of how this is not a bug, but an important feature of the political machine.

You see, it seems to be that we expect our politicians to be able to sound intelligent, well read and capable of handling the job, even if we don't understand the jargon.

I've come to the conclusion that lazy people, lazy thinkers, that is, prefer this type of political figure. It might be that it allows them cover for partisanship hackery, but then again that much is speculative.

To be specific


Is not a good tactic. To give a measurable answer, a quantifiable measurement. Is too close to making a solid promise and thus needs to be avoided.

It's clear to me. If Fauci, for example, was to talk in percentages, solid numbers, he would be held accountable for doing so. This is how the flatten the curve became wait for the cure, and it's now becoming a "who knows when".

Same goes for other political figures out there. They cannot,and do not need to be specifics because most of us don't care to demand them to.

It's frustrating to say the least


ustheword.png

Yes, I'm being facetious, but I hope my point is clear. If we are looking to our leaders for clear direction, then we are stabbing rocks (they don't bleed).

I can do it too


It's really not that hard to sound like a politician. All you have to do is promise nothing concrete, and make it sound pretty.

Let's give it a go... with a blockchain flavor of course:

We must embrace in a quantifiable way the promises of new technologies to free ourselves from limitations. If we work together and embrace the upcoming shift, we can disrupt the current power dynamics and bring forth a better tomorrow.

I'm MenO and I endorse this message...

Sort:  

Standing by in my reionizing chamber, my vague and fearless leader.

i need one of those chambers for my hamster...

I will lend you mine @meno. But please be careful.

Avocados are evil har har har

what kind of heresy is this?

ahahahhahaha Meno!!! I miss these kinds of exchanges

Warren was destroyed for using numbers, wasn't she? Kind of ridiculous if you ask me, especially since she should have been destroyed for throwing Bernie under the bus over and over.

I find the less I pay attention to politics, the more positive impact I am able to have on this world. The whole game is to divide us and tire us out so we can't DO anything. Is it a conspiracy? Whatever. I'm going to know my neighbors and do what I can from the ground up.

Stay sane buddy :-)