They Don't Know (5-minute freewrite prompt for day 1194)

in #politics3 years ago

America is a country divided today. The past year has presented us with so many new ways to disagree with one another! Covid, vaccines, masks, social distancing, riots, and racism are just a few of them. Social media has made it horribly easy to argue in public, and to display one's ignorance for all to see, and for "the other side" to tackle. We ought to be ashamed of ourselves.

Now we have a change in presidency. In all my life I have never seen such a fuss made over inauguration day. Why do we have 30,000 National Guard troops in Washington DC? Who called them in? Why? Who are they supposed to be protecting? Trump, as he leaves? Biden, as he steps in? Reports claim they have no magazines in their weapons. So what good is that going to do? If Antifa and BLM show up in force just to cause a disturbance, like they so often do, what good are weapons without ammo? None of it makes any sense.

Staunch conservatives are convinced this is the end of our country as we know it. But they don' t know what the future brings. Nobody can predict what will happen. Based on past performance., we can assume taxes will go up as government handouts become more commonplace. We can assume there will be more regulations and less freedom, but we don't really know, do we? I will continue to take life one day at a time, and pray a lot, and trust in God, not in the government.

Thanks again to @mariannewest for providing the daily prompts.

Sort:  

I agree 💯. God is still on the throne in Heaven. May more seek Him with their fears and draw from Him the path to follow. We know He will not abandon those who trust him.
I hope all is well. Take care, my friend.

Thanks for stopping by and commenting! I'm hanging in there!

You're welcome. I need to kick myself into writing more consistently. I think all this muck is clogging my brain's creativity. Have a good weekend.

Politics in the USA has devolved to bad performance art. We are being distracted from, led into, a totalitarian state. It's bad here. Don't believe a thing you see or read via MSM sources.

My husband relies on alternative news sources, but I'm not sure I believe everything they say, either. Thanks to photoshop and CGI, it has gotten too easy to mislead people. I'm reaching the point where I don't believe anybody!

I listen to a great many alternative sources, then take the common information as probably true. I disregard any source that is pushing a political agenda. These are few. I sbsolutely do not believe one word I hear on MSM. These have all gotten preposterously false, and that anyone can not see this baffles me.