You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: [The Library Information Warfare Series] Back to Basics: Check Your Sources!

in #politics7 years ago

Another tool for looking at sources is the A-1 matrix

This matches the known reliability of a source against the likelihood of any given piece of information

A-E was the range for the reliability of a source, with a score of A representing the most trusted source; 1-5 was the range for the likelihood that the information was accurate, with a score of 1 indicating that the intelligence had been corroborated with another source( so if you got a report that a German tank division was running amok in Chicago during WWII, you would judge that to be a 5, not a likely event).

Sort:  

I like that system!

When I went to the intelligence seminar, I was happy to see that I knew so much of the material already, but either happier that I learned from personal instruction and practical application LOL. We ran an exercise with thwe A-1 model.

Maybe my next post will be MICE, which would work well as far as developing sources

I like a lot of the intel stuff because most of it is common sense, but the formalized ways that they teach it a lot of times helps a lot to remember the processes and put them into practice.

we can look at the acronyms as checklists ;>